Always About To Live

Random Thoughts

My daughter pointed out to me that I have been schlepping around with the blog and my excuse was that I was tired, cranky, waiting for things to ‘get better’.  It got me to thinking about how much of life we spend in limbo.  “Tomorrow,” we say.  And then years later we find we’re still there, in the same spot, no further along, still saying, “Tomorrow.”  It seems to be a human condition, this procrastination.

From Sarah Ban Breathnach from Simple Abundance:

“Tomorrow we’ll begin discovering authentic pleasures.  Tomorrow we’ll treat ourselves better.  Tomorrow we’ll take the time to enjoy ourselves.  Tomorrow, when everything calms down.  This I can report from the front lines:  life never calms down long enough for us to wait until tomorrow to start living the lives we deserve.  Life is always movement, always change, always unforeseen circumstances.”

And yet again from one of my favorite running authors George Sheehan:

“There are those of us who are always about to live.  We are waiting until things change, until there is more time, until we are less tired, until we get a promotion, until we settle down / until, until, until.  It always seems as if there is some major event that must occur in our lives before we begin living.”

Waiting seems to be my default setting.  And yet I’m tired of ‘waiting’ and ‘tomorrow’.  And I certainly don’t want some major event to come along to slam me out of this.  So I’m going to have to be the one to get myself back into ‘today’.  I need to do something ‘for me’ everyday.  I need to get my own self out the damn door to play in the dirt and to exercise.  I need to spend more time playing with my critters instead of just caring for them.  These are all things that bring joy into my life and they’re right here.  And I need to remember to be grateful for each and every day gifted to me.  The messes and the chaos are never going to entirely disappear, in fact there seems to be a never-ending supply.  So I have got to remember to kick them to the curb to wait their turn so I can take care of me.  I deserve to live now, not “Tomorrow”.

Life At Our House

Nothing exciting going on at the moment.  Spider Bait had his Band Banquet tonight.  Saver of Bugs is getting company at school this weekend in between her to-do’s.  The Husband was nice to the family and made brownies today.

Yummmmm.  And on a ‘me’ note I sent Husband out to splurge on Amaretto and ice cream.   My comfort drink of choice is hot chocolate with Amaretto and marshmallows.  And, yes, I am indulging as I write.

Fur Babies and Other Friends

It has been tooooo long since I clipped kitty claws.  The poor dears were getting snagged on the rug and leaving puncture wounds on us humans.  So claw clipping was on the agenda today.

Raven, who is usually good.

Annie, who is sometimes bad, but behaved today.

There is no picture here of me clipping Espe.  She will let you do her hind claws and then wrestles with you over her front ones and she wasn’t impressed with the flash.  So instead you get a before and after picture of her claws and then a picture of her hanging on my shoulder.  Which is one of the reasons to keep her claws clipped.

Fishhooks

Much Better

Left shoulders are MINE!

And this dog of ours thinks he lives here or something.

Out in the Yard 

 There hasn’t been any yard fun done because I just didn’t want to face the cold and rain.   Lazy butt, that’s me.  The sun did pop out briefly yesterday evening and lit up all the seed pods on the maple trees.  So that is our header for today.

Crafts 

A while back, January I think, I wasn’t feeling good and decided to make myself something to keep my reading glasses in in the livingroom so I wouldn’t keep losing them or sitting on them.  I took a metal orchid pot hiding under a bench in the Dungeon and lined it with purple felt.  I liked it so much I decided to do the other 2 pots down there so I would have one for the kitchen and one for my bedroom.

I also finally finished up a flower pin I crocheted.

Crystals 

Today’s crystal is Bloodstone.  Bloodstone is green quartz flecked with red or yellow Jasper.  It is readily available and is found in Australia, Brazil, China, Czech Republic, Russia and India.  It’s astrological associations are Aries, Libra, and Pisces and it is associated with the Heart Chakra.

Bloodstone is said to be a grounding and protecting stone keeping out ‘evil’ and undesirable influences.  Bloodstone can give you courage, flexibility, and assist you in acting in the present moment.  It can dispel confusion, calm the mind, and revitalize an exhausted mind.   Emotionally it can reduce irritability and aggressiveness.  It can help you bring spirituality into your everyday life.  Wear or position on the body as appropriate.

Mug of the Day

This mug is one of a set of Lenox mugs I got one Christmas with Macy gift cards.  (I was supposed to, hint hint, buy clothes with those cards 🙂 )  Anyway, the set includes a Cardinal, a Nuthatch, a Chickadee, and an American Goldfinch.  I keep these mugs on my rack all year because I adore them.  They also make excellent hot chocolate mugs which is why I grabbed one tonight.  This is both sides of the same mug.

I am now going to watch a Star Trek: The Next Generation episode to relax and finish my Amaretto laced hot chocolate which is waiting for me on my mug warmer.  I already finished the Cheetos.  Hey, it’s comfort food tonight and I had cravings.

One response to “Always About To Live

  1. Glad you finally got the cat claws done. Bet that was a relief. I totally understand the feeling of until, or I’ll do it tomorrow. It’s not a good thing to do and just results in less good being done. I hope you can manage to keep getting yourself out there and in the garden and walking. It will help a lot. I know I feel better after being outside. Also the four plants I sent with the grandmother: don’t let them die. I carried all four at once back to my dorm so you’d better appreciate them.
    There’s not all that much exciting going on with me. Although I did win a game of assassins. That was fun. Other than that I’ve been doing schoolwork and organizing club stuff. That’s about it. Tell Spider Bait and Father (he needs a name) I said hello and give them hugs from me. Also make one of them give you a hug from me.

Leave a comment