The Toughest Fern Out There

I forgot to water this poor fern – not once – but TWICE!  But since it didn’t turn brown or feel crispy, I put it in the dog dish to water it and see what might survive.

It took 3 days the first time and 2 days the second time, but this little fern survived my neglect.

Say hello to the Heart Fern (hemionitis arifolia). This cute little fern is a native to southeast Asia.  It grows both in the soil AND on trees!  Hemionitis arifolia needs moist, well draining soil and high humidity. Heart Fern is a tiny beauty at only 6 – 8 inches tall.  AND, of course, can handle a little neglect! 😀

Time for me to pick a pot and get this sweetie in a proper home!

2 responses to “The Toughest Fern Out There

  1. That’s a really neat plant! Renids me of my ZZ plant; which is doing well by the way.

    • Sorry for being late on this reply. It’s July! (Tee hee) Glad to hear your ZZ plant survived its trip through the mail. I didn’t put it in the post, but that fern only gets 6″ tall. It would make a good terrarium plant. And, no, I’m not going to go there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

