Grief

On October 8, 2016 my brother lost his fight with cancer.

He had no desire for people to mourn and be sad; so no funeral, no gravesite, just a ‘Celebration of Life’ at his church. He would be rolling his eyes at me if he were here, but I needed to acknowledge his passing.

His Favorite Verse

Therefore we do not lose heart.  Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.    2 Corinthians 4:16-18

This poem is one my daughter sent me some time ago that I like and that I think he would have liked as well.

“Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep”
Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there… I do not sleep.
I am the thousand winds that blow…
I am the diamond glints on snow…
I am the sunlight on ripened grain…
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you waken in the morning’s hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of gentle birds in circling flight…
I am the soft star that shines at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry—
I am not there… I did not die…
– Mary Elizabeth Frye

He will be missed.

Leave a Reply

