It’s Officially Spring

As the birds were calling an end to the day, my daughter and I were meandering through the yard enjoying the longer daylight hours to be outside.  Her sharp eyes spotted this beneath one of our hemlocks:

A Robin's egg!

A Robin’s egg!  And looking straight up we saw this:

The nest just six feet above our heads.

The nest just six feet above our heads.

Today I went to see if I could get a peek into the nest. But there was no way to get to the nest through the tangle of branches, so my husband brought a ladder for me to climb for a look from the outside of the tree. Of course, being the lover of heights that I am, I shook so hard the ladder was shaking and my husband claimed there was no way I could get a picture. HA! That’s what the ‘sport’ mode is for!  Unfortunately, mama bird had the nest well covered to keep it safe.  Can you see the edges?

I'm hoping that as the babies grow I'll be able to sneak a picture of them hanging over the edge of the nest.

The nest is right in the middle of the picture in the dark spot where the wee branch shaped like a ‘Y’ is. I’m hoping that as the babies grow I’ll be able to sneak a picture of them hanging over the edge of the nest.

Baby Robin’s!  Yep, it’s officially spring now!

Leave a Reply

