So Sad For My Plants

The weather here has been sooo screwy.  Temperatures in the 50’s one week then down to the twenties the next week for months.  It was like this to a lesser degree last year and I lost 1/3 of my plants.  They never got to sleep properly.  But with the extremes this year, the plants are thinking it’s spring already.

This was what I was looking at for three weeks through Christmas.

This was what I was looking at for three weeks through Christmas.  My crabapple bush in bloom.  In December.  It’s not supposed to bloom till April / May.

My daffodils are coming up.

My daffodils are coming up. In December instead of March.

We just dropped down into the twenties and teens this week. No more crab

We just dropped down into the twenties and teens this week. No more crabapple blooms.  And maybe no more crabapple bush.  And, yes, that is a dusting of snow on the ground.

The daffys so far are okay looking, but I don’t know how they are going to fair with low temps for the next two months.  Assuming, that is, that they stay low for the next two months.  How many more of my plants are going to die this winter? Snivel. 😦

(And, oh, did I mention that my yard is a mud pit? I’m not sure if I’m going to have any grass next spring either.)

2 responses to “So Sad For My Plants

  1. A lot of plants are struggling with the shift in seasons, it is very sad. I hope your plants tough it out and can adapt.

    • Thanks. This warm/cold, warm/cold crap is just reeking havoc here. I was talking to my mother-in-law yesterday and she said her hyacinths are sending up -blooms- 3 months early. Gah! We woke up this morning to a 20 degree temperature and 4 inches of snow. *sigh*

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

