My Trip To The Zoo (Part 3 of 3)

Elephants! African Elephants to be exact. I love all animals, but elephants amaze me. My most recent discovery was an article that made the rounds about how wounded elephants knew where to go to get help from us humans. Read about it here at “The Dodo“.

I could watch elephants all day.  Here are some of the photos I took while I sat and watched.

Soaking up some sun and scratching an itch. You can see that someone had themselves a soak in the pool.

Soaking up some sun and scratching an itch. You can see that someone had themselves a soak in the pool.

Big Ears!  What a lucky shot with my camera!

Big Ears! What a lucky shot with my camera!

I don't recognize this elephant. It has no tail! I wonder what her story is?

I don’t recognize this elephant. It has no tail! I wonder what her story is?

That's a lot of food!

That’s a lot of food!

Here is one of the 'baby' males born at the zoo. Only he's not so little anymore!

Here is one of the ‘baby’ males born at the zoo. Only he’s not so little anymore!

A mom and one of the babies.

A mom and one of the babies.

A 'baby' playing with a bit of hay, snorting and 'waving' its ears.

A ‘baby’ playing with a bit of hay, snorting and ‘waving’ its ears.

Say, "Ahhh..." The elephants were getting an oral checkup. A treat swiftly followed.

Say, “Ahhh…” The elephants were getting an oral checkup. A treat swiftly followed.

It must have been a really yummy treat, 'cause as soon as the word was out, the elephants came running. There was some jostling for position going on as everyone wanted to go first.

It must have been a really yummy treat, ’cause as soon as the word was out, the elephants came running. There was some jostling for position going on as everyone wanted to go first.

I like taking pictures of their faces.  Here are my two favorites from this trip.

This lady came right up to the window where I was sitting and stood there while I snapped pictures.

This lady came right up to the window where I was sitting and stood there while I snapped pictures.

I loved the high contrast in this picture.

I loved the high contrast in this picture. I just wish the eye had been a bit more defined. *shrugs*

And, of course, there were souvenirs!

And, of course, there were souvenirs!

Hope you enjoyed the trip!

Leave a Reply

