Another ‘Hawk’ Visitation

Please excuse the poor quality of the pictures.  Neither of our cameras has a good zoom and my camera, as it turns out, was dying. (Remember the stripes on the computer?)

I was in the bathroom and looked out the window and saw this:

I ran for my camera. Please, please, please....stay put, stay put...

I ran for my camera. Please, please, please….stay put, stay put…

I began snapping pictures as fast as the camera would go, thinking that any minute now he was going to look up, see me and take off.  And then he did turn and look at me.

And nothing happened. I was moving around in the window and he just started gazing about. Not good. And then I noticed the squirrels were running up and down the tree and he didn't even care. And then I realized he seemed a bit wobbly.

And nothing happened. I was moving around in the window and he just started gazing about. Not good. And then I noticed the squirrels were running up and down the tree and he didn’t even care.  I got my daughter up so she could see.  She took more pictures from the window of him just sitting there.  We realized he looked wobbly and dazed.  I hadn’t heard him hit a window, so that left the tree I have feeders in and the feeder by the bird baths.  Had he conked his head? Gotten the wind knocked out of him?  Broken something?  Were we going to have to try a hawk rescue?  About 10 minutes went by and then his head began swiveling about and he looked sharply behind him.

What's that? Feathers began flaring on his head and neck and he began crouching and raising himself. YES! He was coming around. But could he fly?

What’s that? Feathers began flaring on his head and neck and he began crouching and raising himself. YES! He was coming around. But could he fly?

I wish I could say one of us got the money shot.  But no, when he took off we both missed it.  I did, however, get a blurry close-up right before take-off.

What is that looking at me!? A few more ruffled feathers and quick head snaps and he was gone.

What is that looking at me!? A few more ruffled feathers and quick head snaps and he was gone.

This hawk is a Cooper’s Hawk.  It is a smallish hawk of the woodlands.  Their short broad wings allow them to maneuver sharply between the trees in pursuit of their prey which is small birds and mammals.   There is roughly 10 feet between our house and the tree outside the kitchen window with the feeders.  I have seen these guys dip sharply in that small space to pick a bird off the feeder.  Amazing.   They will even dive into brush or run along the ground in pursuit of dinner! 😀

Now, from a spiritual standpoint, Hawk flies into your life to alert you that a message is on its way to help you to your destiny.  He is a messenger of the sky.  You’re being asked to pay attention, look around you.  An opportunity may be coming your way.  Or you may be asked to use Hawk’s vantage point to see what in your life stops you from flying.

This site has a very nice explanation of Hawk’s meaning http://www.shamanicjourney.com/article/6020/hawk-power-animal-messenger-discernment-intuition-observation-wisdom-courage-truth–

But here’s a question – How does the meaning change if your Hawk visitor is only visiting because he knocked himself silly? 😀

 

Leave a Reply

