Random Round-up

I was putting photos into my Blog folder and looking down at the bottom of the screen I found I had over 250 pictures in the folder.  Holy crap.  So while I haven’t been posting like I used to, I hadn’t totally stopped thinking about it.  Of course, some of these pix are old, unused photos because I never got around to  writing the post I was thinking about, but there are a ton of animal and flower pictures as well.

I’ve decided to start cleaning out the folder and posting the pics that have no special post attached to them.  Ten at a time seems comfortable to me.  Enjoy!

Our rhododendron bush 2 stories high.  It no longer exists as it was torn out to put in sewage lines.

Our rhododendron bush 2 stories high. It no longer exists as it was torn out to put in sewage lines.

I love butterfly bushes. If you want something that will guarantee you lovely winged visitors, put in a butterfly bush.  I have four.  Don't be intimidated by their size.  You can cut them down to 18" inches every spring.  One year for fun, I cut off all the branches below 2 1/2 feet and any branches pointing down.  They looked like giant candleabras when they bloomed.

I love butterfly bushes. If you want something that will guarantee you lovely winged visitors, put in a butterfly bush. I have four. Don’t be intimidated by their size. You can cut them down to 18″ inches every spring. One year for fun, I cut off all the branches below 2 1/2 feet and any branches pointing down. They looked like giant candelabras when they bloomed!

Blurry but still beautiful, an Indigo Bunting.  We occasionally get these coming through in early summer.  They are so lovely, but also very shy.  I took this picture from the kitchen and he still spotted me and took off.

Blurry but still beautiful, an Indigo Bunting. We occasionally get these coming through in early summer. They are so lovely, but also very shy. I took this picture from the kitchen and he still spotted me and took off.

These are the nests of the Organ-pipe (or pipe organ) mud dauber.  Yes, that's on my house and I left them there.  They originally started this nest at face level outside my front door.  Since I experience lingering pain with wasp stings, I was not impressed.  But it totally ignored me when I opened the door which surprised me and made me curious.  In looking up this wasp I found they are non-aggressive and won't sting unless hurt. But face level at the door wasn't going to work with the rest of the family, so I scrapped off the nest and sprayed lemon pledge on the brick.  They then moved the nest up into the corner and I let it be.  Did you know they hunt spiders to put in the nest for the young to eat?  Go here to find out more about this remarkable wasp.

These are the nests of the Organ-pipe (or pipe organ) mud dauber. Yes, that’s on my house and I left them there. They originally started this nest at face level outside my front door. Since I experience lingering pain with wasp stings, I was not impressed. But it totally ignored me when I opened the door which surprised me and made me curious. In looking up this wasp I found they are non-aggressive and won’t sting unless hurt. But face level at the door wasn’t going to work with the rest of the family, so I scrapped off the nest and sprayed lemon pledge on the brick. They then moved the nest up into the corner and I let it be. Did you know they hunt spiders to put in the nest for the young to eat? The adults drink nectar from flowers.  Go here to find out more about this remarkable wasp.

I've had this cactus for an untold number of years and two years ago it finally bloomed.

I’ve had this cactus for an untold number of years and two years ago it finally bloomed.

Judging not by the throw behind me, I can have Christmas out till February, this is the week after Christmas.  How do I know?  My BFF makes pfefferneuse cookies for us every Christmas and they generally don't make it to New Year's!

Me working on the couch.  Judging not by the throw behind me – I can have Christmas out till February – this is the week after Christmas. How do I know? Check out the plate of cookies.  My BFF makes pfeffernusse cookies for us every Christmas and they generally don’t make it to New Year’s!

 

Hermit crab on the prowl.  Love these little guys!

Hermit crab on the prowl. Love these little guys!

Phalanopsis orchid from a couple of winters ago.

Phalaenopsis orchid from a couple of winters ago.

And another.

And another.

A small succulent that bloomed even before I put it in a proper pot.  Unfortunately, it was one of over 20 plants that did not make it through this winter.

A small succulent that bloomed even before I put it in a proper pot. Unfortunately, it was one of over 20 plants that did not make it through this winter.

That’s it for now!

Leave a Reply

