Some Quick Smiles From Out In The Yard

The first smile was a snake!  I’ve been hoping they would make it back to our yard and there is at least one.  The Husband, who is scared to death of snakes, is the one who found it.  (Tee hee hee)  It was a little garter snake. Yay! They’re bug eaters.  Sorry, no picture. It was gone by the time I got the camera and ran outside.

Remember the baby bunny?

He decided to stick around and is seen in our front yard eating clover.  He's a little bigger now.

He decided to stick around and is regularly seen in our front yard eating clover. He’s a little bigger now.

We had a really wonky winter.  Warm, cold, warm, cold, really, really cold, warm, cold, – get the picture?  I lost a LOT of plants.  But one eventually came up and treated me to loveliness.

My Graham Thomas  put forth one lone stalk and a handful of flowers.

My Graham Thomas put forth one lone stalk and a handful of flowers.  Hopefully he’ll grow enough this summer to make it through the next winter.

And then there are the Amaryllis bulbs I threw in the basement last fall and forgot.  Again. But some of the bulbs not only survived the neglect, they are going to give me a flower or two.  Here’s the first:

This was one of those Christmas cheapos and was just supposed to be a single white.  Surprise! A double!

This was one of those Christmas cheapos and was just supposed to be a single white. Surprise! A double! With a blush!

Finally, we always have at least one, sometimes two, broods of wrens in the bird house on our porch.  I was hoping to be home when they fledged, it’s hilarious watching them explore the porch.  But I only got to get in on the very end where mom and dad are yelling at the kids to get it in gear and come with them.  As I was walking up to the porch there were little ones flying (sort of) around my feet and as high as my waist.  How sweet!  When they all got into the bushes I went up on the porch and there right next to the door on top of a walking stick was one more. I very carefully opened the door and grabbed the camera and came back out only to find out he had left.  But then I heard him call and spotted him in the young maple off our porch.

He very nicely sat for his picture.  He looks like he is twice as heavy as his poor skinny parents!

He very nicely sat for his picture. He looks like he is twice as heavy as his poor skinny parents!

Hope you enjoyed the fun!  It’s quite relaxing and enjoyable to take time to notice the little things going on around you.

Leave a Reply

