My Big Crystal Cleanse (And Why I’ll Never Do That Again!)

Last week we had a day that was to have sunshine till evening.  Then the rain would return.  Since I was home I decided to wash and recharge ALL my crystals at once, since quite a few of them had been lying around in boxes and hiding under junk.  There was rain water in the little swimming pool – one of my favorite ways to wash them.  It shouldn’t take long, right? I’d do it when the husband was home for lunch in case the puppy was too much of a challenge. No worries.

OMG. What. An. Idiot.  First of all, did you know that rocks and crystals are actually heavy?  And that polished stones are a very slippery and slide-y? So in comes a bucket to put the ones that can being stacked and ‘dumped’. But then there are all the ones that are fragile or could get chipped or broken.  They could only be stacked in a single layer. And my crystals were in various places in the house.  In and out, in and out, in and out of the house I went.  My enthusiasm began to wane. But then I stopped and looked at what I was putting into the pool.

Aren't they just beautiful? It is calming just to look at them.

Aren’t they just beautiful? It is calming just to look at them.

I was actually able to catch some of the fire in the labradorite heart with my cheapo camera.  Gorgeous!

I was actually able to catch some of the fire in the labradorite heart with my cheapo camera. Gorgeous!

I decided to wash them in batches.  Some of the crystals, like Selenite, are water-soluble.  Those cannot be soaked.  Some of the crystals, like Amethyst and Amber, can’t be left out in the sun for long.  The sun can bleach Amethyst, something I didn’t know in the beginning and so my best cluster isn’t quite what it used to be.   UV rays can actually turn Amber to dust with too much exposure. And thus I sat down to enjoy myself.

The sun was warm and bright and the water warm and clear.  It was a joy to sit there gently washing my crystals, remembering to focus on them totally, noticing the way they were made and how they felt in my hand.  Tuning in to them and the moment. And then the husband announced lunch was over, “Bye!”.  What? Huh? An hour was gone and I hadn’t even gotten half of them done!  I watched him leave with regret.  The puppy was mine now.

I had laid a sheet (cotton) down on the earth to lay my crystals out in the sun for recharging. I had to take time to explain to the puppy, “No, you may not jump into the middle of the sheet and spin in circles grabbing the sheet.”

And, “No, you may not pounce in a large leap onto the crystals and start digging at them.”.

And, of course, “No you may not grab mouthfuls of crystals and take off across the yard chewing and spitting crystals.”.

I was torn between laughter and exasperation.  Fortunately, he’s a Border Collie puppy so the problems were very short-lived.  Good Ryder!

Shortly thereafter, I noticed that I was roasting.  The temperature had risen 8 degrees, from comfortable to hot. And the water was getting cloudy! That had never happened before with small washings. So off I went back into the house to wash the ‘usual’ way under the faucet. And wash. And wash.  Suddenly a joyful interlude was becoming work.  It’s very hard to be ‘in the moment’ and attune to the crystals when you’re wondering how much longer it’s going to take.  And by longer, I mean by the time I was done three hours had passed.  It never occurred to me it would take so long!  And I had felt a bit rushed! And while the crystals were brightened up over their outing, a bit of something was lost in the process.

The normally deep satisfaction and calm that I usually feel was not present.  Don’t get me wrong, the time wasn’t wasted.  But I think I just spread myself out too thin and was too rushed to have a proper sit down with them.  So I won’t be doing them all at once ever again.  It just isn’t ‘good enough’, if you get my drift. Though having them all done and in one place does bring a smile to my face!

Whew! Done!  Now time to start putting them into the boxes and trays so that they're easily accessable and viewable!

Whew! Done! Now time to start putting them into the boxes and trays I’ve put together so that they’re easily accessible and viewable!

 

Leave a Reply

