Today I Am Thankful I Live On A Hill

Today I am thankful I live on a hill. We have been getting rained to the point of flooding around here.  It’s not deadly type flooding yet, but OMG are we wet.

It rains for a couple of hours and then we have the sun for a couple of hours and then back to the rain. Day after day.  The night before last it poured for about 8 hours, 1.38 inches of rain I think they said.

This is what 1.38 inches of rain looks like.  Uh, huh.  Looks more like 4-6 inches of water in those containers to me.

This is what 1.38 inches of rain looks like. Uh, huh. Looks more like 4-6 inches of water in those containers to me.  Yes, I know the weather people measure things differently.  But this is what I’m dealing with in actuality.  We live on a hill and our yard is swampy. *shakes head*

And to make our evening full and complete, the transformer across the road, on a hill that is just short of a jungle, blew.  So no electricity. And because of the state of that hill – no roads, over grown and a climb – it would be hours before it could be repaired. First they have to chop and chain saw their way in and then drag the new transformer up the hill.  Literally.  Which, for us, means water changes on the fish tanks every couple of hours till it’s fixed to keep the bio-filters alive. On the plus side, dinner had just finished cooking.  So we ate and I dug out my oil lamps and candles and prepared for a dark evening.

Because of that transformer and it's former tendency to go out every time the wind blew, I have acquired a lamp or two.  Things got better when they put in a substation across the highway, but that only means that it 'only' goes out about once a year instead of at least every month.  Pas time to get rid that thing.  You should hear the language when the electric company people realize what they have to do to fix it.

Because of that transformer and its former tendency to go out every time the wind blew, I have acquired an oil lamp or two. And this does not include all the votive holders in the china cabinet drawer.  Things got better when they put in a substation across the highway, but that only means that it ‘only’ goes out about once a year instead of at least every month.  You should hear the language when the electric company people realize what they have to do to fix it.  You would think they’d get rid of that thing.

I keep these guys in the bathroom.  Yep, that's a water dish in the shot.  I have my cat's dry food and water up on the counter away from the dog.

I keep these guys in the bathroom. Yep, that’s a water dish in the shot. (Oops.) I have my cat’s dry food and water up on the counter away from the dog.

We were fortunate in that the electric company were able to send five trucks and personnel out and we think they rerouted the lines.  It took 6 hours, but we’ve had much longer.  And they did it in that continual downpour.  Bless them.

I am thankful we live on a hill. Even if I am squelching through 4 inches of mud. 🙂

Leave a Reply

