A Welcome Surprise In The Yard

The elderly couple that used to live next door became crazy cat people when the husband’s heart got so bad that he couldn’t take care of his property anymore.  They left food outside 24/7  and my daughter sat in the yard on one trip home and counted 26 different cats wandering through. And there were some in the house.  I gritted my teeth and tolerated it even though the cats had turned my garden into a litter box because they had been the best neighbors I had ever had. The wife wound up with Alzheimer’s and after her husband passed she got so bad she couldn’t take care of herself.  The cats were caught and removed and the house put up for sale.

The bad side of having so many cats around was all the dead bodies. All the small animals, even snakes, were hunted and the populations decimated.  Many bodies were simply left to rot in the yard so you didn’t go running around in your bare feet or sit down without looking first.  It was a tough few years.

But the cats have been gone for a little over a year now.  Last September we saw our first chipmunks return and one lone rabbit we saw one time.  Now we can add mole and vole runs through our grass.  A nuisance, but they’re eating all the grubs in the yard.  And today I found this:

A wee baby bunny in my ferns (please ignore the weeds).  He was very camera shy.

A wee baby bunny in my ferns (please ignore the weeds). He was very camera-shy.

I was thrilled to see him.  The ecosystem is rebounding.  I'm crossing my fingers I'll find snakes in the yard this summer.

I was thrilled to see him. The ecosystem is rebounding. I’m crossing my fingers I’ll find snakes in the yard this summer as well.

I sat very still on the porch and he wandered out under the yew bush.  He quickly took off back into the bushes when he heard the camera.  Hopefully he'll be around awhile enjoying the clover in the weed plot we call a yard. :)

I sat very still on the porch and he wandered out under the yew bush. He quickly took off back into the bushes when he heard the camera. Hopefully he’ll be around awhile enjoying the clover in the weed plot we call a yard. 🙂

G’Night!

One response to “A Welcome Surprise In The Yard

  1. I’m so glad that the wildlife is coming back. Not having chipmunks and bunnies was sad.

Leave a Reply

