Birthday at the Aviary 2015 – Part 1

I decided to do the Aviary for my birthday. It was a bitter-sweet day with me wondering whether or not my brother was going to make it to his next birthday.

My son and I took nearly two hundred pictures between the two of us. 😀  I whittled it down to 83.  No, I’m not sticking you with that many pics! But I am splitting it into two posts.  Enjoy!

Stellar's Sea Eagle

Stellar’s Sea Eagle – This large bird lives along the coast of Russia and the Bering Sea.  Like the Bald Eagle, the Stellar’s Sea Eagle eats fish.

African Penguins - That's my boy in the back of the picture.  "Hi, Spider Bait!"

African Penguins – That’s my boy in the back of the picture. “Hi, Spider Bait!”

I have no idea what kind of this bird is!

I have no idea what kind of bird this is!  But it is a very strong swimmer!

Brown Pelican - One of only two pelican species that dives into the water to catch their fish.  This guy was injured and is unable to be released back into the wild.

Brown Pelican – One of only two pelican species that dives into the water to catch their fish. This guy was injured and unable to be released back into the wild.

Boat-billed Heron - It's bill looks like the bottom of a boat!  Big eyes help this bird hunt at dusk and early night.

Boat-billed Heron – It’s bill looks like the bottom of a boat! Big eyes help this bird hunt at dusk and early night.

Malayan Great Argus - These large birds are omniverous  and the male's tail feathers are the longest of the wild birds.

Malayan Great Argus – These large birds are omnivorous and the male’s tail feathers are the longest of the wild birds.

Blue-faced Honeyeater - This bird is from Australia and is known for eating bananas!

Blue-faced Honeyeater – This bird is from Australia and is known for eating bananas!

Blue-bellied Roller - Rollers are named for their acrobatic flight while snatching flying insects out of the air.

Blue-bellied Roller – Rollers are known for their acrobatic flight while snatching flying insects out of the air. Those are tiny mealworms the people are holding!

Part of the hospital area.  The other side had incubators and climate controlled cubes.

Part of the hospital area. The other side had incubators and climate controlled cubes.

These are Burrowing Owl owlets that need some personal TLC.

These are Burrowing Owl owlets that need some personal TLC.

Spider Bait insisted that I show you the food preparation area with its drawer full of knives that is situated right next to the hospital room!

Spider Bait insisted that I show you the food preparation area with its pan full of knives that is situated right next door to the hospital room!

Isn't this gorgeous?! It's a painting by Johno Prascak.

Isn’t this gorgeous?! It’s a painting by Johno Prascak.

The purple and yellow birds are Gouldian Finches and the two brownish birds are Cutthroat Finches.  I don't know what the birds in the back are.

The purple and yellow birds are Gouldian Finches (from Australia) and the two brownish birds are Cutthroat Finches (from Africa). I don’t know what the birds in the back are.

I'm going to leave you with these two cuddlers. I have no idea what they are but they were so sweet sitting close to us and grooming and snuggling.

I’m going to leave you with these two cuddlers. I have no idea what they are but they were so sweet sitting close to us and grooming and snuggling.

Part two is in the works!

One response to “Birthday at the Aviary 2015 – Part 1

  1. I always loved the aviary, the birds are so cool and so pretty. Looks like you had a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

