Day Eleven (The End) – Mushroom Mini Farm (Back To The Roots)

Yesterday.

Yesterday.

Today.  One day too late.  See how they're shriveling up?  Gonna cook them anyway!

Today. One day too late. See how they’re shriveling up? Gonna cook them anyway!  Pulled the clump and cut off the bottom.  That left the four mushrooms you see in the picture.

Pulled the clump and cut off the bottom.  That left the four you saw in

I cut them in half down the middle, tossed them and a pat of butter in the pan on medium heat.

I sauteed them for about 8 minutes.  Mmmm, smells good!

I sautéed them for about 8 minutes. Mmmm, smells good!

A dash of sea salt and they're ready to eat.  And they still tasted really good!  A slight nutty flavor.  Definitely would be interested in eating more of these!

A dash of sea salt and they’re ready to eat. And they still tasted really good! A slight nutty flavor. Definitely would be interested in eating more of these!

Unfortunately, at $10 for the kit, that was an expensive 2 mouthfuls of mushroom.  Though I thoroughly enjoyed growing them.  So I guess you pay for the fun, too.  I would still recommend this kit.  Especially if you enjoy learning new things and/or you have children. I now better understand how those mushrooms can just pop up out of nowhere in your yard.  These things grow fast!

Also, in running around the web, I found out different ways I can encourage a second crop.  So, in a few days I’ll take the time to reset this and see what happens.  I’m looking forward to the possibilities!

2 responses to “Day Eleven (The End) – Mushroom Mini Farm (Back To The Roots)

  1. Those look really good. Can’t wait to see if you can get a second crop.

Leave a Reply

