An Owie and a $2.50 Present

I have been watching the Santos Tour Down Under (Australia).  The first big bike race of the year.  Well, last night was the queen stage ending up Willunga Hill.  I wanted to watch!!  They are 15 1/2 hours ahead of us, which means watching from about 9 pm to 11:30 pm.

Thursday night was not a good night and I got up LATE yesterday.  And animal chores have to be done!  So as I was rushing through water changes on the fish tanks, I cut the corner of my bed tooooo close.  My pinky toe got up close and personal with the footboard of my bed.  I couldn’t breathe for a bit.  Here’s what it looks like one day on.

It doesn't hurt badly enough to be broken.  No stabby pains.  But it is definitely NOT a happy toe.

It doesn’t hurt badly enough to be broken. No stabby pains. But it is definitely NOT a happy toe.  At least the swelling has gone down.  It has been very educational as to how large a role such a wee toe plays in your daily round. 😦

I had absolutely no idea how hard it was to take pictures of a pinky toe that actually looks like the toe really does.  I took about 24 photos all told to get something that actually looked right.

I had absolutely no idea how hard it was to take pictures of a pinky toe that actually look like the toe really does. I took about 24 photos all told to get something that actually looked right.

********************

We went running around this afternoon taking care of some annoying chores.  One of our stops was at Home Depot.  Imagine my delight at finding that the small orchids were being sold for only $2.50 a plant!  I was thrilled and dug out some of my Christmas cash to purchase 2 of them.  Merry Christmas to me!  Aren’t they pretty?

Pretty posies!  There is a Bic pen standing between them so you see how small they are.  Unfortunately, after unbagging them I found the pot had no holes in it and they are stuffed in plastic cups.  So I immediately took them out of the clay pot to let them drain.  Too much wet = root rot.

Pretty posies! There is a Bic pen standing between them so you see how small they are. Unfortunately, after unbagging them I found the pot had no holes in it and they are stuffed in plastic cups. So I immediately took them out of the clay pot to let them drain. Too much wet = root rot.

Aren't the colors and detail lovely?  Just imagine how lovely these blooms will look when the plant grows up and the blooms are 3 - 4 inches across.

Aren’t the colors and detail lovely? You can click on the picture to blow it up bigger.  Just imagine how lovely these blooms will look when the plant grows up and the blooms are 3 – 4 inches across!

So a not so stellar beginning of a day ended with pretty flowers.  Now I’m going to watch the last 13 laps of the Santos Tour Down Under!  (If you pop in before 11:30 pm eastern US – it’s 10:30 now – you can watch too!  http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8785996#cf )

2 responses to “An Owie and a $2.50 Present

  1. Hey your toe looks like mine did when I fractured it. Also pretty flowers!

Leave a Reply

