My Winter Gratitudes

So I’m trying to remember to be grateful for the ‘little’ things instead of the dramatic things.  As I ate breakfast this morning and then did my monthly bed strip and scrub, I realized I needed to be grateful for some of the things that help me survive the winter.  Because I have two big issues that are front and foremost when the winter season and cold hits.

One is circulatory issues.  The simplest way to describe it is to say that I am chronically hypothermic.  My system can shut down at 80 degrees if I’m sweaty, it’s breezy and I’m sitting in the shade.  Blue lips, anyone?  Cold sucks.

My second issue is light.  I have SAD (seasonal affective disorder).  Talk about the blucks and blahs.  I also have a tendency to not recognize what’s happening until I’m really dragging and moving at the speed of sludge.  I need to remember to put a note on the October page of my calendar so I can get out in front of this so I don’t have to be miserable at length.

SO!  I am grateful…

This is my box, turned off, ready to go at breakfast.  See how much light is shining through the windows?

…for my light box.  It starts my day with loads of light and wakes me right up.  I can’t explain the complete and total difference this makes in my ability to function.  This is my box, turned off, ready to go at breakfast. See how much light is shining through the windows?

Now I've turned it on and it is so bright, even standing back, it makes it look like night to the camera.

Now I’ve turned it on and it is so bright, even standing back, it makes it look like night to the camera.

As I made my bed, I gave thanks to my heating blanket.  Yes, I’m super-duper grateful for a working furnace.  But it’s just not enough by itself.

My electric blanket that I use to heat the bed up before I get into it.

My electric blanket ready to warm my bed so I can sleep instead of shivering and shaking for an hour waiting for my spot on the bed to heat up.

Even though I keep the house at 74 degrees all winter, I am still cold.  My feet and hands suffer the most.  So…

My wonderful, soft and warm alpaca socks.  I buy myself a new pair every fall.

I give thanks for discovering wonderful, soft and warm alpaca socks. (Regular wool itches and scratches and is awful to my skin.) I buy myself a new pair every fall so I have a small collection now to see me through the winter.  (And they’re totally worth the weekly hand wash and line dry routine.)

And the perfect slippers.  I have two pair, one red and one grey. (Luuuuve post Christmas sales!)

And what do you need to go with perfect socks? The perfect slippers. Dearfoams! I have two pair, one red and one grey. (Luuuuve post-Christmas sales!)

Do you have special needs that you can be grateful are met?

Leave a Reply

