Making Citrus Vinegar – A Natural Disinfectant

Last spring on one of my favorite blogs HenCam, Terry wrote a post on the power of citrus and vinegar.  I was hooked.  I use plain vinegar in my home for many things.  It’s just as good as bleach for most jobs.  And if you’re like me and have small critters in cages, it’s a great non-toxic cleaner.  Adding the power of citrus oil gives you a stronger punch.

After reading Terry’s post last spring, I realized I had just enough grapefruit left to give it a try.  Mmmm, what a wonderful smell!  Even if you’re don’t have animals, do this just for the scent.  Every time you spray down your counter, table, sink or shower, instead of a harsh vinegar scent, you get to freshen your air with citrus.

And since it’s that citrus time of year, you can make many gallons to get you through the summer.  Here’s how:

Get your choice of citrus and a very sharp knife.

Get your choice of citrus and a very sharp knife.

Cut off the top and bottom of the fruit and following the curve, cut the skin and pith off.  I'm not the best at this.  I seriously recommend going here to see the proper way to do this.  Terry is, after all, a chef!

Cut off the top and bottom of the fruit and following the curve, cut the skin and pith off. I’m not the best at this. I seriously recommend going here to see the proper way to do this. Terry is, after all, a chef!

Put them into the container of your choice.  I use a lot of vinegar so I make large batches.  That's a one gallon container in the photo.  For 2 quarts use x oranges and for a gallon I use 6 - 8 oranges or 5 - 6 grapefruits.  I do mine by the day.  I fill the container half way with vinegar and add the rinds day by day till I get enough and then finish filling the container to about 3 or 4 inches from the top for shaking room.  Let it sit for 4 weeks.  I like to set it where I will see it about once a week at  which time I give it a shake and spin.

Put them into the container of your choice. I use a lot of vinegar so I make large batches. That’s a one gallon container in the photo. For 2 quarts use 3 oranges and for a gallon I use 6 – 8 oranges or 5 – 6 grapefruits. I do mine by the day. I fill the container half way with vinegar and add the rinds day by day as I eat the fruit. When I get enough, I finish filling the container to about 3 or 4 inches from the top leaving shaking room. Let it sit for 4 to 6 weeks. I like to set it where I will see it about once a week at which time I give it a shake and spin.

It will then look like this.

It will then look like this.

Time to strain the vinegar.  I have a mesh strainer, but a regular strainer will work as well.  I also like to fish out the rinds into a bowl and squeeze them.  Oranges will give you up to a cup and grapefruit up to 2 cups of vinegar and juice to add back into the container.

Time to strain the vinegar. I have a mesh strainer, but a regular strainer will work as well. I also like to fish out the rinds into a bowl and squeeze them. Oranges will give you up to a cup and grapefruit up to 2 cups of vinegar and juice to add back into the container.

You then have this.  And, as always, remember to mark your containers!

You then have this. And, as always, remember to mark your containers!

I already have another orange and 2 grapefruit containers processing.  I intend to have enough Citrus Vinegar made up this winter to last me until next winter!

Enjoy the fresh scent released into the air as you clean!

2 responses to “Making Citrus Vinegar – A Natural Disinfectant

  1. That looks awesome, although not enough people here eat citrus to do it well. Also since I didn’t say it on your last post: Happy New Year!

    • One bag of oranges could give you two gallons-ish. 😉

      Are you visiting senility? We Happy New Year – ed each other over Skype on New Year’s!

Leave a Reply

