Um, The Juncos Are Early This Year (I’m not ready for winter!)

I was enjoying a brief time of sunshine today even though we’re being hit with this polar blast (high 24 degrees F.).  It lasted just long enough this afternoon to melt off the dusting of snow we had.  While I was looking out the window, I saw this:

Juncos.  Early.  They're a little hard to see.  Look closely, they're there!

Juncos. Early. I imagine the polar vortex sent them looking for easier climes.  They’re a little hard to see. Look closely, they’re there!

This charming little bird arrives each year to keep us company through the winter.  Known in some places as the “Snowbird”, the Dark-eyed Juncos arrive here each fall, usually November, and remain until spring. They then fly north or east into the mountains to mate and raise their young.

This is a picture of a male up in a tree from last year.  They normally prefer the ground and shrubs, but will come up into the trees to the feeders.

This is a picture of a male up in a tree from last year. They normally prefer the ground and shrubs, but will come up into the trees to the feeders.

I’m hoping they are not a harbinger of a long cold winter.  Unfortunately, I also found this on my porch wall right before the cold hit:

Folklore has it that the more black on the wooly bear caterpillar, the worse the winter.

Folklore has it that the more black on the wooly bear caterpillar, the worse the winter!

I am not ready for cold and snow!   But Mother Nature has her own ideas about things! *sigh*

2 responses to “Um, The Juncos Are Early This Year (I’m not ready for winter!)

  1. I also found a black woolly bear here. This just sounds like a bad winter. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

