The Renaissance Festival 2014

We hit the Renaissance Festival a couple of weekends ago.  Right after I spent a couple of days fighting a stomach bug.  So I wasn’t exactly running around like lightning.  Nor was I eating all kinds of stuff.  But I did eat some good things, drank a lot of liquids to keep hydrated (it was hot), and still had a wonderful time.  It took me this long to get through all the pictures.  Yes, you read that correctly.  This year I was not responsible for picture-taking.  See, I always forget something when I go on trips.  This year it was the camera.  I was sooo sad.  So my wonderful son gritted his teeth and offered to take pictures with his new fancy schmancy phone that Grandma got him.  And took pictures he did!  203 pictures to be exact.  Yikes!  I eventually whittled them down to 59.  No I won’t make you look at all of them!  I also had problems taking pictures of this year’s loot.  But that is going to be the next post.  Enjoy our trip to this year’s Renfest!

The upper level and some shops.  It was early and not too crowded.  But a couple of hours later it was packed!

The upper level and some shops. It was early and not too crowded. But a couple of hours later it was packed!

That is a real married couple!  They are now doing weddings at the Renfest!

That is a real married couple! They are now doing weddings at the Renfest!

The Klass Klowne! He is one of our favorite acts.  That's real fire and he's standing on a board on a barrel!

The Klass Klowne! He is one of our favorite acts. That’s real fire and he’s standing on a board on a barrel!

That's a pogo stick falling out of the picture.  Do you see how high he is?  And going over backwards!

That’s a pogo stick falling out of the picture. Do you see how high he is? And going over backwards!

Blowing fire! Can you imagine how bad that tastes?

Blowing fire! Can you imagine how bad that tastes?

The lower eating area.  Popcorn on a stick and a couple of the locals!

The lower eating area. Popcorn on a stick and a couple of the locals!

The parade!

The parade!

Bellydancer!

Belly dancer!

The Owlchemist Queen.  Look at all those feathers! (She had to be roasting.)

The Owlchemist Queen. Look at all those feathers! I wish he had gotten a picture of her face.  It was wonderful.  (She had to be roasting!)

Skidmark, the Village Beggar.  You should see the 'stuff' in his little cart!

Skidmark, the Village Beggar. You should see the ‘stuff’ in his little cart!

Yep, that's me!  The branch over my left shoulder is also the branch I'm sitting on!  It  made a nice seat!

Yep, that’s me! The branch over my left shoulder is also the branch I’m sitting on! It made a nice seat!

It was raining while this was being played and the pictures didn't come out.  It makes wonderful music!

It was raining while this was being played and the pictures didn’t come out. It makes wonderful music!

More awesome music!  My son went and grabbed their CD so we could listen to them at home!

More awesome music! My son went and grabbed their CD so we could listen to them at home!

Flourish, an acrobat!  Look at those muscles!

Flourish, an acrobat! Look at those muscles!

I loved this picture by one of the artists.  Whose name I have forgotten.  I should have written it down.  *sigh*

I loved this picture by one of the artists. Whose name I have forgotten. I should have written it down. *sigh*

At the end of the day on our way out we were treated to 'Zinnia the Fairy'.  Her outfit was wonderful.  And, oh!, her wings!

At the end of the day on our way out we were treated to ‘Zinnia the Fairy’. Her outfit was wonderful. And, oh!, her wings!

And, of course, we had to treat ourselves to Cinnamon Almonds before we left!  In the next post I’ll show you all our loot! (Mostly mine! 😀 )

2 responses to “The Renaissance Festival 2014

  1. I’m so jealous. The costumes look amazing as always. And that’s so cool that they are doing weddings. Oh and the name of the artist is The Wandering Muse. She is on Facebook for anyone interested. Love you all!

Leave a Reply

