Roasted Garlic Paste

I love garlic.  Unfortunately, since the years when I was constantly fighting illnesses, garlic in quantity no longer likes me.  That’s not to say I can’t eat it.  I just can’t eat a lot at once or something that has a lot of garlic in it.  Unless, of course, I’m willing to spend quite a bit of time in the bathroom.

I love getting baby garlic from one of my mom’s neighbors.  Those wee cloves are just the right size for scrambled eggs.  Or mincing into the tomatoes for bruschetta.  Regular sized garlic I use for cooking.  Or better yet, roasting!  Roasted garlic doesn’t bother me like raw garlic.  So I can eat a bit more of it. 🙂

One of the ways I like to use roasted garlic is as a paste.  You can “butter” your bread with it, mix it into butter to make garlic butter, or heck, just mix it into anything you want flavored with garlicky goodness (Mmmm, mashed potatoes!).

So here’s what you do:

  • Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Take the head of garlic and cut the tips off the cloves.
  • Then drizzle olive oil over and between the cloves.
  • Wrap it in aluminum foil, but do not seal it tight.
  • Cook it for 30 to 60 minutes.  Just until the cloves give when you push on them.  One head, depending on size, usually cooks 30 to 40 minutes.  Six heads of garlic cooked at once, depending on size, will go 45 to 60 minutes.
  • When the garlic has cooled, squeeze it out of the cloves and mash it up.  If you want it a little smoother, or want to make it go farther, mix in some olive oil to the consistency you want.  Done!
  • One average head of garlic will make about a heaping tablespoonful of garlic paste.
Cloves tipped, olive oil drizzled, now pull up the foil and bake!

Cloves tipped, olive oil drizzled, now pull up the foil and bake! Oh!  By the way!  It smells kinda funky while it’s cooking.  I don’t know if it’s the olive oil burning (some of the oil on the foil will burn) or a combination of hot foil and olive oil. But it smells funky.

Roasted and ready to squeeze!

Roasted and ready to squeeze and mash!

Roasted Garlic Paste!  This will easily keep a week in the fridge.  Assuming it even lasts that long! :D

Roasted Garlic Paste! This will easily keep a week in the fridge. Assuming it even lasts that long! 😀

Here's the first thing I put mine on!

Here’s the first thing I put mine on!

 

7 responses to “Roasted Garlic Paste

  1. Garlic mash can be used whenever desired. Time saving 🙂

Leave a Reply

