Neoscona Crucifera Rides Again

I don’t want Fall to come.  It’s too soon.  I have too much yet to do!  But a harbinger of Fall showed up in my window, Neoscona Crucifera.  Last year I wrote about the life of Neoscona Crucifera  here.

There she is sleeping in a corner on the inside of my window.

There she is sleeping in a corner on the inside of my window! (My windows crank out away from the house with the screens on the inside of the house.  Who thought of this? It’s insane. )

So I checked Almanac.com and found out that in June we were getting 15 hours and 2 minutes of daylight.  The sun was coming up at 5:50 am and setting at 8:53 pm.  Now we’re getting only 13 hours and 8 minutes of daylight.  The sun isn’t coming up till 6:47 am and is setting at 7:56 pm.  And we’re going to lose another hour and half in September!  *sigh*

But Neoscona Crucifera cares for none of this.  Time is counting down for her. So that night I opened my window and waited.  She did not disappoint.

I was very lucky on the angle of this web.  You wouldn't believe how difficult it is to take a picture of a spider web at night!

I was very lucky on the angle of this web. You wouldn’t believe how difficult it is to take a picture of a spider web at night!

There is the top of The Husband's head to give you an idea of how large the web is.

There is the top of The Husband’s head to give you an idea of how large the web is.

Isn't she beautiful?

Isn’t she beautiful?

Later she had a suitor come calling and there was much waving of legs. I couldn't get a clear picture of both of them together.  The little guy is the suitor.

Later she had a suitor come calling and there was much waving of legs. I couldn’t get a clear picture of both of them together. The little guy is the suitor.

Unfortunately, the weather turned cold.  48 degrees at night!  Way to cold for me, so I was forced to close up the house.  Knowing how important food is for her at this time of year, I was forced to dislodge her from her cosy window perch.  I scooped her out of the corner (she was highly displeased) and put her outside on the window sill.  She scrambled for cover immediately.  Later that night I looked out the window.  She was not to be deterred!

There she is!  Hanging out on the outside of the window!

There she is! Hanging out on the outside of the window!

So like it or not, Fall is on its way.

One response to “Neoscona Crucifera Rides Again

  1. That is such a pretty spider and the web is amazing!

Leave a Reply

