“Dead Skunk in the Middle of the Road…”

So I took a trip down memory lane today.  While I was eating I was reading the race ticker for the USA Pro Challenge (live video doesn’t come on till 3:30 pm).  The commentator mentioned that on the drive up the night before they came across a dead skunk in the middle of the road and were hoping that the race officials would scrape it off the road before the race got to that point.  And what pops into my brain? What do I start humming before the words even hit conscious thought?  A song from the 70’s that I haven’t thought about in literally decades, Dead Skunk in the Middle of the Road.

I was trying to remember all the words and realized that this is 2014.  YouTube would probably have it!  Yup.  I found some pretty graphic ones with actual dead critters.  I must confess I found one of the pictures where the road line painters had just painted the dividing line over the long dead skunk kinda funny.  And ridiculous.  The one concert one that came up had lousy sound.  So I settled for one of the ones that just have lyrics.  Enjoy a trip back to the early 70’s!

 

2 responses to ““Dead Skunk in the Middle of the Road…”

  1. The seventies were weird.

Leave a Reply

