May Monthly Box (in August, I know, I know)

So much for my posting in July.  While the Tour de France was utterly enjoyable (and crazy this year), it did complicate life a bit by taking a few hours out of every day.  This meant some things were neglected or handled sketchily.  Also during July, I had to get my son up and out on another bike trip to DC (a week).  And he was home for one week and then I had to pack up both him and The Husband for Boy Scout camp (both adult leaders). And that was another week.  They came home Sat. afternoon (July 26th) and Sunday night my nieces and nephews came for a week.  Can anyone say, “Dirty Laundry”? They left for home this morning. Oh, and let’s not forget the car repairs!  I was busy.

None of that explains the May box in August.  It was one of those, “I’ll get it tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow…”  And now it’s August.  Part of the problem is I’m not using my tea stuff.  I’ve just been throwing tea into cups while I keep going.  I used to sit down every afternoon for a break.  I started doing this when the kids were little and I realized my melt down time was about the time they came home from school.  I had no interest in what was done at school or patience for their after school moodiness.  And so 3 o’clock became tea and snack time.  So I could deal with them sanely. And when they got home they needed a little pick me up to keep them sane till dinner.

There is no reason for me not to sit down and take a break.  Clearly running myself ragged and skipping ‘Me Stuff’ hasn’t improved anything or gotten massive bunches of extra stuff accomplished.  In fact, I think it has actually slowed me down.  It’s hard to focus and be energetic when you’re fried.  So it’s back to scheduling ‘Me Time’ every day.  And it will start tomorrow with a sleep-in day.  And I’ve put post-its on my calendar so that every weekend I will be changing out my boxes; not just to get caught up, but also as a weekly reminder to take some ‘Me Time’ every day.

This teapot goes with my dishes.  "Flower Market" by Pfaltzgraff.

This teapot goes with my dishes. “Flower Market” by Pfaltzgraff.

A seashell tealight holder from a friend.

A faux seashell tealight holder from a friend.

Tea for one. I don't remember how I came to have this one. But it has birds and flowers, so it is just right!

Tea for one. I don’t remember how I came to have this one. But it has birds and flowers, so it is just right!

 

Got this on clearance many years ago.

I got this on clearance many years ago. A cute little something for a table or shelf.

A cute little pot by Jan Karon. A Christmas gift.

A cute little pot by Jan Karon. A Christmas gift.

A tealight holder.

A tealight lamp.

A gift from my BFF. A teapot by Marjolein Bastion.

A gift from my BFF. A teapot by Marjolein Bastin.

My clean kitchen table!!!  (This is a constant battle...)

My clean kitchen table!!! (This is a constant battle…)

Some of the mugs to big for the mug rack.  And Spider Bait's beer stein from Germany. And my jars of cookie cutters.  And a pitcher I use as a vase...

Some of the mugs too big for the mug rack. And Spider Bait’s beer stein from Germany. And my jars of cookie cutters. And a pitcher I use as a vase…

And, of course, the teapots in the cabinet.

And, of course, everybody in the cabinet!

 

One response to “May Monthly Box (in August, I know, I know)

  1. Sounds like you were super busy. I hope you had fun with the cousins. I’ve not been doing anything exciting. Trilobite is still moving all of her stuff in. As for me time, you need an afternoon tea time and an exercise time. I know you shake your head about the exercise, but you really need to do it. You will be so much happier. Anyways, I’ll let you know when excitement happens. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

