New Tank Additions

I stopped at the pet store today looking for a specific plant for my aquariums.  Of course, I also had to peruse the inhabitants of the store as well.  I cruise pet stores the way some women cruise shoe stores.

One of my stops was the snail tanks in the fishy section.  And what did I see?  Wee nerite snails.  The younger you can get them, the longer you will have them.  They don’t live as long as the apple snails.  And while they live, they are algae eating machines.  I kid you not.  I have just one in my 5 gallon and he keeps the algae under control all by himself.

Did you know I have “SUCKER” tattooed on my forehead?  Yep, in big, black letters.  I have a spine of jello when it comes to critters.

I was putting off buying nerites for my 10 gallon till I get the tank cleaned and the nitrates under control.  Nerites don’t do well with nitrate.  But I couldn’t resist these wee guys.  But how would I feed them? HA! I could just keep taking the algaed ornaments from Saver’s 10 gallon! She has a particular type of algae that she grows on purpose (it’s pretty) and can’t have nerites in her tank lest they eat her pretty algae.  I also have Spirulina flakes, but live algae is best.

Here's my lone nerite checking out the clay pot I took from Saver's tank.  My blue apple snail decided he had to be in the picture, too!

Here’s my lone nerite checking out the clay pot I took from Saver’s tank. My blue apple snail decided he had to be in the picture, too!

Here are the new guys.  See how tiny they are?

Here are the new guys. See how tiny they are?

Here are the new guys cruising the pot.  The whitish stuff is fish food.  I threw some in to keep the betta busy so he wouldn't peck at the snails right off.  It worked!  And take a good look at the path of algae my older nerite has already eaten!

Here are the new guys cruising the pot. The whitish stuff is fish food. I threw some in to keep the betta busy so he wouldn’t peck at the snails right off. It worked! And take a good look at the path of algae my older nerite has already eaten!

Cross your fingers these weren’t damaged when they were shipped to the pet store!   I don’t need any dead bodies!

2 responses to “New Tank Additions

  1. Pretty snails! And you are a sucker. The most interesting part of my day so far has been taking a cat for a walk. My one house mate decided to take his cat out for a walk in the park and the cat was very confused. So we’ll get to see if the cat will eventually like walking or not. It should be interesting.

    • Hopefully, he will adapt just fine. Make sure the harness isn’t loose in any way. If he freaks out, he’ll twist right out of it. No leash attached to a collar. He could hang himself while you watch. If he does freak out, keep moving with him so he can’t get any leverage to pull out. Pull – release him in a circle around you if you can. And good luck! Most cats love going for a walk once they figure it out. I used to take Tinker, Lucky, and Fergy all out together when they were younger. Too many loose dogs around here when we first moved here, so that put a stop to neighborhood walks. *sigh*

      Sourdough starter is in the mail. Some yeast, as well. Just how small is this grocery that it doesn’t have yeast? Maybe they were out? I would ask next time. Or find a better store!

      Hugs! I have to go play with laundry again. I think we should all just go naked.

Leave a Reply

