My Birthday Trip to the Museum (Part 2)

The Hall from an older part of the museum.  What beautiful architecture!  I couldn't even begin to guess how much it would cost to replace this.

The Hall from an older part of the museum. What beautiful architecture! I couldn’t even begin to guess how much it would cost to replace this.

I love Egyptian artifacts.  These tablets are several -thousand - years old!

I love Egyptian artifacts. These tablets are several – thousand – years old!

Papyrus.  It is unbelievably amazing that this has survived all these years.

Papyrus. It is unbelievably amazing that this has survived all these years.

Yeah, it's blurry.  Shaky hands again and this was the only picture of this mummy I took.  Inside is a child.  I wish the x-rays had turned out so you could see inside, too.

Yeah, it’s blurry. Shaky hands again and this was the only picture of this mummy I took. Inside is a child. I wish the x-rays had turned out so you could see inside, too.

The small statues on the left are from around 332 BC.  The taller one on the right is from around 1070 BC.

The small statues on the left are from around 332 BC. The taller one on the right is from around 1070 BC.

Amazing.  These jars, left to right, are from 3050 BC, 2700 BC, and 1479 BC.

Amazing. These jars, left to right, are from 3050 BC, 2700 BC, and 1479 BC.

This jar rest is over 3,000 years old!

This jar rest is over 3,000 years old!

A recreated burial scene.

A recreated burial scene.

More old architecture!

More old architecture!

Elephant skull. Wow.

Elephant skull. Wow.

I love how they put all this seashore stuff together.

I love how they put all this seashore stuff together.

These clocks are from the 1600's.

These clocks are from the 1600’s.

Look at those feathers!

Look at those feathers!

Sperm whale jawbone.

Sperm whale jawbone.

One of things I liked when touring the critter section of the museum, was how they set up scenes from the different countries.  For example, the African savanna would have not only the animals, but the plants and BUGS, as well.  Saver noticed this when she found ‘maps’ of what was in the exhibit.  And if you had the time and patience to look, you could find things like beetles hiding in the grass.

I happened to look up over my head while wandering through the exhibits and found this leopard watching me from up in the tree!

I happened to look up over my head while wandering through the exhibits and found this leopard watching me from up in the tree!

My favorite of the posed exhibits is "Arab Courier Attacked By Lions".  It was first shown clear back in 1867 in France.  The Barbary Lions shown here became extinct in the wild shortly after this exhibit first opened. The last one alive in captivity died in 1922.

My favorite of the posed exhibits is “Arab Courier Attacked By Lions”. It was first shown clear back in 1867 in France. The Barbary Lions shown here became extinct in the wild shortly after this exhibit first opened. The last one alive in captivity died in 1922.

Hope you enjoyed the quicky tour.  Next up will be crystals!

 

Leave a Reply

