My Birthday Trip to the Museum (Part 1)

The Zoo is one of my favorite ways to spend my birthday.  However,  since my BFF just had a hysterectomy not too long ago, traipsing through the zoo, up and down hills in 80+ degrees just didn’t seem like a nice thing to do to her.  In looking around to find something else that would be open on Memorial Day (the only day everyone would be off and the only weekend both kids would be home at the same time), I remembered The Museum of Natural History.  I had never been there without a pack of screaming kids.  Dinosaurs! Crystals! And no child rustling!

I got crazy with the camera. 147 pictures!  I whittled them down to 78 I’m going to keep.  No, I won’t make you view all of them.  But I am breaking them up into 3 groups, dinosaurs/fossils, misc., and minerals/crystals.  I didn’t write any names down, I was having too much fun.  One day was not enough to see everything.  *sigh*  Enjoy the pics!

Dinosaurs/Fossils

 Paleontology fascinates me.  To think that these specimens have lasted for millions of years!  How awesome is that?

I wouldn't want this chasing me around!

I wouldn’t want this chasing me around!

 

Look how big that mouth is!

Look how big that mouth is!  And all those teeth!

Could you imagine carrying that rack around on your head?

Could you imagine carrying that rack around on your head?

Millions of years  old.  Just amazing!

Millions of years old. Just amazing!

This lily is huge! And the detail is just amazing!

This lily is huge! And the detail is just amazing!

Dragonfly lineage dates back 300 million years.

Dragonfly lineage dates back 300 million years.

Wouldn't want to go swimming with this!

Wouldn’t want to go swimming with this!

This turtle is bigger than I am!

This turtle is bigger than I am!

Stegosaurus!

Stegosaurus!

I like the posing of this exhibit.

I like the posing of this exhibit.

Big front teeth!

Big front teeth!

Variety is the spice of life!

Variety is the spice of life!

 

T-Rex!

T-Rex!

Triceratops!

Triceratops!

View from above.  These guys were huge!

View from above. These guys were huge!

Hope you enjoyed the visit!

Leave a Reply

