Catch Up And A Recipe For Saver

Catch Up

So first there was Easter with both my kids home and Saver’s SO came, too.  That was busy but nice. I made sure there were 2 gallons of ice tea (Spider Bait drinks waaaay too much tea, in my opinion) and I made Sweet and Tangy chicken for their first meal home.  It’s a frequent request.  I love having everyone home.   (Hey, Saver, how about calling your SO GeoBabe? 😀 )

Then came my BFF’s hysterectomy.  She has uterine cancer.  I have not been a happy camper.  Surgery lasted much much longer than expected because they had to clean out a bunch of endometriosis.  She did come out of the surgery okay, but it was a very long day.  The doctor feels that they got to it in time before it spread.  We should find out sometime this week whether or not she will have to have chemo.   Currently she has a bad cold and I keep reminding her to pay attention to how she feels.  Pneumonia is not uncommon after surgery.  And she was under a very long time.

Spider Bait had all his finals bunched together.  WooHoo!  We brought him home Friday night.  You would not believe how much laundry he brought home, the little stinker! 😀

I guess you could say I stressed my way through the past two weeks!

Spring is here!  The Juncos have departed for northern territories and the Rose-Breasted Grosbeaks have arrived!

Spring is here! The Juncos have departed for northern territories and the Rose-Breasted Grosbeaks have arrived!  (Excuse the blurriness! Between the screen on the window and my shaky hands things aren’t always clear! 🙂 )

**********

Recipe for Saver

Remember these, Saver?

Remember these, Saver?

Dijon Chicken Breasts

(from Mr. Food Cooks Chicken by Art Ginsburg)

  • 2 skinless, boneless, chicken breasts
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon-style mustard
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne (red) pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Place the chicken in a shallow baking pan (8 X 8) in a single layer.  In a small bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients.  Brush half the mustard mixture over the chicken.  Bake for 10 minutes; brush the remaining mixture over the chicken and bake for about 10 minutes more, or until the chicken is fork-tender and no pink remains.  This is great on the grill, too!

Notes:

  • When baked in a dish, I like to double all but the cayenne pepper so that there is extra sauce.
  • With the chicken breasts the size they are these days, it takes more like 30 t0 40 minutes to cook, not 20.  I would split these breasts lengthwise next time to cook them.  Did you notice how many times I cut into them?
  • I use brown mustard most of the time.  It’s just as good.  Yellow mustard would probably work, as well.

ENJOY!

2 responses to “Catch Up And A Recipe For Saver

  1. Saver of Bugs

    My SO refuses Geobabe but will consent to being called Trilobite. I hope the stress is decreasing up there. Also that chicken looks tasty. That recipe will most likely come in handy soon, thanks! Love to all!

Leave a Reply

