My First Spring Bouquet

Two warm days in a row and the daffodils and hyacinths burst forth.

Poof!  Blooms in two days.  Beauty next to the ugly.

Poof! Blooms in two days. Beauty next to the ugly.

All I did with these was to stick a shovel into the ground, pull back and dropped in the bulb. I think I need to dig them up and loosen the soil around them.  They haven't spread much.  However...

All I did with these was to stick a shovel into the ground, pull back and drop in the bulb. I think I need to dig them up and loosen the soil around them. They haven’t spread much in three years. However…

The bulbs in my butterfly garden have done much better in the loose soil.  (Just pretend the dandelions are dug up already :) .)

The bulbs in my butterfly garden have done much better in the loose soil. (Just pretend the dandelions are dug up already 😉 .)

The hyacinths like the garden as well.  Seven bulbs are now 26!  (Yes, I cut a couple -before- I took the picture!)

The hyacinths like the garden as well. Seven bulbs are now 26! There are more in another bed.  (Yes, I cut a couple -before- I took the picture! 🙂 )

First I put a short hyacinth on the window sill so I can watch it open.

First I put a short hyacinth on the window sill so I can watch it open.

And then I put together a couple of bouquets for the house.  It's wonderful to sit here and smell spring in my house.

And then I put together a couple of bouquets for the house. It’s wonderful to sit here and smell spring in my house.

Tomorrow the high will be 41 and the low 26.  *shakes head*  It will be wonderful to have spring in the house while the furnace is blowing away.  Though the tea in that mug will probably be replaced with hot chocolate!

One response to “My First Spring Bouquet

  1. It is so cold here now. Also your flowers are gorgeous. We have daffodils here too! See you this weekend!

Leave a Reply

