It’s A Boy!

LOOK WHAT I FOUND THIS MORNING!!!

All those bubbles are from a bubble nest I inadvertantly ruined when I got the bowl out of the china cabinet.  (I have to lock him up at night to keep my cat from helping herself to his water.)  A bubble nest is a sign that my baby betta is a boy.  A lack of large fin development means he is probably a short tailed betta (Plakat). I had no idea they would make a bubble nest this young.  But at least I know he's healthy and happy!

All those bubbles are from a bubble nest I inadvertently ruined when I got the bowl out of the china cabinet. (I have to lock him up at night to keep my cat from helping herself to his water.) A bubble nest is a sign that my baby betta is a boy. A lack of large fin development means he is probably a short-tailed betta (Plakat). I had no idea they would make a bubble nest this young. But at least I know he’s healthy and happy!

He is about 1 inch long.  When I bought him I didn't know what colors he had because he was so scared he had paled out and all you could see were two black fear stripes.  You can see one starting to show on his side because he didn't like the camera so close.  It looks like he will have some blue on him.  It'll be fun watching him grow up and get his fins.  Unless, of course, the 'he' turns out to be a 'she'!

This is what he looked like three weeks ago when I brought him home.  He was about 1 inch long.

Here he is today.  He is about an inch and a half long.  Time to put him in a slightly larger tank with an air pump and filtration.  The goal is to get him strong enough for my 5 gallon.  The red and blue betta won't leave my snail alone, so he's going back to solitary living.

Here he is today. He is about an inch and a half long. Time to put him in a slightly larger tank with an air pump and filtration. The goal is to get him strong enough for my 5 gallon.

 

2 responses to “It’s A Boy!

  1. Your little boy is so pretty! I also didn’t know they made nests so young, that’s pretty cool. It also kind of makes sense with their shorter life spans. Nothing special going on here. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

