“Hawk” Came To Visit

Random Thoughts

A couple of days ago our yard was graced with the presence of “Hawk”, a beautiful cinnamon breasted bird of prey.  My camera sucks at long distance pictures and I only had a brief time to observe it through my binoculars.  So, based on coloration, what little I got to see through the binoculars (I’m not an expert birder) and it’s size when it took flight, it appears to be (I’m guesstimating it as) a juvenile Northern Harrier.  The first I’ve ever seen.

Northern Harriers are the only harriers in North America.  They prefer to hunt in open areas and, like owls, can hunt by sound.  Their faces are feathered in a disc shape like an owl for this purpose.  They tend to eat small- to medium-sized mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and insects.

The males tend to have more than one mate.  This Hawk actually nests and roosts on the ground!  They lay 4 to 6 eggs each year which hatch in roughly 30 days.  The young hawks fledge at about 4 or 5 weeks of age but stay together and are cared for by the parents for another couple of weeks.

The Northern Harrier's numbers are declining due to habitat loss and predation. Their need to nest and roost on the ground makes them easy targets.

The Northern Harrier’s numbers are declining due to habitat loss and predation. Their need to nest and roost on the ground makes them easy targets.

From a spiritual standpoint, Hawk flies into your life to alert you that a message is on its way to help you to your destiny.  He is a messenger of the sky.  Pay attention, look around you.  An opportunity may be coming your way.  Or you may be asked to use Hawk’s vantage point to see what in your life stops you from flying.

This site has a very nice explanation of Hawk’s meaning  http://www.shamanicjourney.com/article/6020/hawk-power-animal-messenger-discernment-intuition-observation-wisdom-courage-truth-

What a beautiful sight!

What a beautiful sight!

Life At Our House

Dinner tonight - potato pancakes slathered with sour cream, tomatoes, and pineapple.

Dinner tonight – potato pancakes slathered with sour cream, tomatoes, and pineapple.

Saver is on her way back from San Francisco and I got the munchies while waiting so I made these muffins.

Saver is on her way back from San Francisco and I got the munchies while waiting so I made these Cinnamon and Sugar muffins.

This cake tester belonged to either my Great-Grandmother or my Grandmother. We're not sure which 'cause my Grandmother moved into my Great-Grandmother's house after she died and just added her stuff to the house.

This cake tester belonged to either my Great-Grandmother or my Grandmother. We’re not sure which ’cause my Grandmother moved into my Great-Grandmother’s house after she died and just added her stuff to the house.

Mugs

It's that time of year... Hot Chocolate with marshmallows and Amaretto!

It’s that time of year… Hot Chocolate with marshmallows and Amaretto!

Saver is safe back at school.   1:43 AM!  Time to wrap it up!

4 responses to ““Hawk” Came To Visit

  1. Now I see what you did with your munchies. Looks good.
    I had a great time in San Francisco and will tell you all about it soon. And yes I did bring back a couple of things for you guys.

  2. Wish I could contact you privately some how. Are you doing e-mail yet? You’ll see why when you check back at my place for comment replies later.
    Julie

    • I got started on my e-mail and then when everything went to crap last spring I got away from it. The spammer’s just keep coming. My husband went in to bring down my e-mails – nearly 10,000 of them. My son set me up a G-mail account and keeps smacking me over the head about it. MOM, JUST USE IT TILL YOU FIX THE OTHER ONE!!! BETTER YET, GET RID OF IT!!!! I -ahem- don’t even remember the password. 🙂 So I’ll have to get back in touch with him.

      Yeah, like Skye I have issues with that whole pre-chosen stuff. Especially concerning children. I should be seeing Spider Bait this weekend. We’re supposed to deliver Boy Scout chickens (he sells to his college friends, I watched one scarf one down like a Piranha in under 10 minutes) and winter coats. It’s nice having him close enough to go visit. But back to point, I’ll see about learning to use the new e-mail. Maybe a sticky note stuck in the middle of the computer screen can help push me into remembering to check it…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

