Juncos! Winter Has Officially Arrived!

Random Thoughts

“Why do birds sing in the morning? It’s the triumphant shout: ‘We got through another night!'” – Enid Bagnold

**********

Every year a charming little bird arrives to keep us company through the winter.  Known in some places as the “Snowbird”, the Dark-eyed Juncos arrive here each fall, usually November, and remain until spring. They then fly north or east into the mountains to mate and raise their young.  Our Juncos arrived two days ago. (And in trying to get pictures of them, I realized that they are never really still.)

We have females this year!  She is brownish while the males are charcoal colored.

We have females this year! She is brownish while the males are charcoal colored.

A female (left) and a male (right).

A female (left) and a male (right).  The have a charming way of uncovering seeds and insects.  They give the ground a good-looking at with head tilted and then do a double scratch-hop backwards to uncover what they want to eat.

A male checking for seeds kicked out of  the feeders above in the tree.

A male checking for seeds kicked out of the feeders above in the tree.

These birds prefer low shrubs and grasses to trees.  Finding one actually up in the tree outside my window was a real treat.

These birds prefer low shrubs and grasses to trees. Finding one actually up in the tree outside my window was a real treat.

Life At Our House

I have made another tissue box cover!

This yarn was so soft and fuzzy I couldn't find the stitches in the start chain.  I wound up stitching in toothpick halves with each chain so I could get the pattern started!

This yarn was so soft and fuzzy I couldn’t find the stitches in the start chain. I wound up stitching in toothpick halves with each chain so I could get the pattern started!

**********

I killed an unused Halloween pumpkin today.  I had to have my annual toasted pumpkin seed fix!

Mmmmmm...nom nom nom

Mmmmmm…nom nom nom

**********

12:13 pm – Night All!

 

 

One response to “Juncos! Winter Has Officially Arrived!

  1. The juncos are so cute. Also I’m totally jealous of the pumpkin seeds.

Leave a Reply

