Mercury Is In Retrograde (YUK) and A Wee Critter Is Found

Random Thoughts

So Mercury went retrograde on Oct. 21 and has been slapping me around ever since.  Remember how much trouble I had posting that day?  A sign of things to come.  Me and the internet and this computer having been having at it ever since. Internet for 5 minutes then no internet then internet then no internet, ARGH!  The Husband did a shutdown and reboot(?) of all things computer and internet related that has given me back internet for now. The question is will it last?  Retrograde doesn’t end until November 10.  So no starting new things, no signing contracts, no buying new cars, expect delays in travel, expect anything to do with communications to fritz out, got the picture?  I am told that revisiting old projects, sorting paperwork, cleaning out clutter, organizing, and regrouping are good ideas till everything settles.

**********

Another bit of ‘fun’ was an intestinal virus that came to visit last weekend.  I still feel like all my ‘go juice’ got drained away.  When I can sleep, I’m hitting 10 – 11 hours at a clip.  *sigh*

**********

” It takes both the sun and the rain to make a beautiful rainbow.” — Attributed as Unknown or Proverb

**********

“Nature does not hurry yet everything is accomplished.” — Lao Tzu

Life At Our House

Not much to tell.  It’s been a whole lot of nothingness this week.  I did, however, get in the mood for food.

Fresh sourdough bread and Cranberry Pumpkin muffins.

Fresh sourdough bread and Cranberry Pumpkin muffins.

Out In The Yard

When The Husband grabbed a couple of hours to mow, he found a wee surprise under one of the flower pots.

I did not handle this wee fellow who was maybe all of 3 inches long.  Just gently scooped him on to a leaf and moved him.  So by process of elimination on what lives around here and what my yard has to offer, I believe he is a lead phased, Eastern Red-Backed Salamander.

I did not handle this wee fellow who was maybe all of 3 inches long. Just gently scooped him on to a leaf and moved him. So by process of elimination on what lives around here and what my yard has to offer, I believe he is a lead phased, Eastern Red-Backed Salamander. (Normally they have a red back.)  They eat all kinds of wee crawlies that live in the leaf litter and soil.

These guys have no lungs.  If their skin drys out they will suffocate to death.  They also do not require a water source for their eggs.  There are no intermediate stages, so eggs are laid in leaf litter or under logs and the young that hatch are fully developed baby salamanders about an inch long.

These guys have no lungs, they breathe through their skin.  They must live where it is moist, for if their skin dries out they will suffocate to death. They also do not require a water source for their eggs. There are no intermediate stages, so eggs are laid in leaf litter or under logs.  The young that hatch are fully developed baby salamanders about an inch long.

It was such a nice surprise to know my yard is safe enough for these guys to live in it.  I rarely, rarely use anything poisonous in my yard.  (My big exception is getting rid of fire ant colonies. I refuse to be constantly attacked in my own yard.)

Our header today is Bee Balm or more properly, Monarda.  Everything loves this stuff.

So pretty.  It is a member of the mint family and can be used for tea or to spice up dishes.

So pretty. It is a member of the mint family and can be used for tea or to spice up dishes.

Mugs

100_3026

Yes, another old favorite.  Have I mentioned before that this is one of my favorite sets?  I leave it up on my mug rack all year round.

It’s now 11:14.  So time to go.  Fingers crossed this posts the first time around!

4 responses to “Mercury Is In Retrograde (YUK) and A Wee Critter Is Found

  1. That is amazing that you guys found a salamander. He looks so cute. I hope that Mercury doesn’t continue to give you too hard of a time. And wish me the best of luck for all the papers I have to start. The Monarda looks awesome and I didn’t know you could use it as a spice, that’s cool. I’m just doing a ton of homework here so nothing really exciting. Hope you all are well. Love you! Vale.

    • NO PROCRASTINATING!

      We went to bring chickens to your brother and he showed me a really neat garden. I think the pergolas are all covered in Wisteria. If I’m right it’ll be wonderfully smelly come spring.

      And it looks like your dad has gout!!!

      • Wait, you had to bring him chickens? Do you mean like cooked boy-scout chicken? Also I just had to look up a pergola. And dad has gout? That really sucks.

      • Yep. Boy Scout chickens. He takes orders from his friends and we usually go up for a little bit and deliver them. I sat there last month and watched his one friend decimate a half a chicken in like 10 minutes. Like a piranha.

Leave a Reply

