Yarn, Cider, And Bed Clothes On The Line

Random Thoughts

Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending. — Carl Bard

I think what I like about this challenge to refocus your outlook is the goal of reworking the ending.

Life At Our House

Saturday was a rare sunny day with a brisk breeze.  I decided to take advantage of it by washing all the clothes my bed wears and hanging them outside on the line. It may be the last time I get to do this before spring.  I did have to do battle with all the falling leaves and baby spiders that wanted to hitchhike into the house.  But it was worth it.  Ahhhhh, that wonderful sundried smell!

100_5407

**********

I have sinus issues so tissue boxes are part of the household decor.  And so many of them are just butt ugly.  I was looking at the boxes and trying to figure out a way to cover them up and then the light bulb went off.  YARN!  So I found some free patterns and used a gift card I had for JoAnn’s and bought some yarn.  Here is the result:

I am disappointed the colors are not as bright in the livingroom where I keep this.

I am disappointed the colors are not as bright in the livingroom where I keep this.

With the rest of the yarn I made another bag for my Tarot cards.

100_5412

**********

We had our first batch of Hot Sweet Cider tonight.  Yummmmm….

Yeah.  We had already scarfed half of this by the time I took this picture.

Yeah. We had already scarfed half of this by the time I took this picture.

Hey, Saver!  The recipe for this is already on the blog.  Go down to categories and click on Cider!

Out In The Yard

Once or twice a year we get a grey squirrel trespassing in our yard.  Usually just running out and yelling at them as soon as we see them will chase them off for another year.  We’re willing to share some bird food with the red squirrels, but not the greys.  The reds have been having trouble around here and the greys will run them off.  So when this guy came calling for the second day in a row, the Husband went out with the BB gun to scare it off.  No, he didn’t kill it or wound it.  Scare only.

100_5411

I also got to watch doves splashing around in the bird bath a couple of days ago.

100_5399

This is our header for today.  Rudebeckia or Black-Eyed Susan.  I scored these for $1 a piece from Lowe’s clearance rack.  They were beat up and broken a bit from a storm but bounced back nicely.

100_5392

Not A Mug

This is one of my fall candle holders.  It's terra cotta with leaf cutouts.

This is one of my fall candle holders. It’s terra-cotta with leaf cutouts.  Or perhaps wheat.

Soooooo, now it’s 12:15 pm.   Grrrrrr.  First my pics wouldn’t transfer into Media.  Then they would show in the draft but not in Media.  Then when I posted this the first time, it ate pictures AND text.  *Sigh*  I wonder what will happen this time?  Please post…

8 responses to “Yarn, Cider, And Bed Clothes On The Line

  1. Well now I’m jealous. I wish I could hang my clothes outside. But alas, no outside lines for me. That yarn is so pretty, and the tissue box cover came out really nicely. And double jealousy; your candleholder is beautiful, I miss those.
    Not much new to report on this end. I did get to listen to an acapella group for a while on Friday and an old Bucknell grad came back to visit over the weekend so I hung out for a while. Other than that I’ve just been working and homeworking. Love to all!

    • Mourning Doves to be exact. We now have our own personal flock that spends time in our yard every day year round. Yeah, we’re suckers that feed the wild things.

Leave a Reply

