Porch Patrol

Our own personal insect catcher.

Our own personal insect catcher.

Regularly throughout the summer we have been startling a toad hopping about our porch in the evenings.  When I rescued some plants from a pitch pile and put them on the porch to see if they would survive, he decided to set up house.

I would fit if I could just shove this plant out of here.

I would fit if I could just shove this plant out of here.

So out of curiosity I filled a pot half way with dirt and put it down next to the plant.

Mine!

Mine!

Of course, he’s redecorating to suit himself.  So now there’s a lot of dirt kicked out on the porch.  He has also decided the dog’s water dish makes a great bathtub.  The dog won’t drink after him.  🙂

Ahhhhh...

Ahhhhh…

I love that he spends part of his day with us.  I hope he lives a long, long life.  Did you know that they can live up to 30 years?  Soon he will be looking for a place to hibernate.  They can dig holes up to three feet deep to spend the winter in.  And I have a whhhhhole lot of loose, just dug up earth all over the yard! 🙂

2 responses to “Porch Patrol

  1. That is just awesome! We must get a lot of tasty insects on our porch.

    • I’m starting to believe it is the water dish sitting in a ‘protected’ spot that is the draw. Even if I don’t see him in the pot, he comes in every evening to at least take a bath. (And judging from the water color, take a pee as well.)

Leave a Reply

