My Birthday at the Aviary

Yeah, I’m way late.  Life exploded around here.

I had wanted to do the Zoo again, but with this crazy weather it would have meant running around in serious cold and rain.  I don’t think so.  So I wound up chosing the Aviary when I realized how many years it had been since I was last there.  And I desperately needed a day off.

I went ahead and paid extra for a show and got lucky to be chosen as a participant.  It was a pirate themed show and I got to hold up a piece of a treasure map for a bird to come and take from my hand.  Yay!  Sorry, no pictures.  Photography was not allowed.  I do, however, have pictures from the rest of the day.  So here are a few of my favorites:

Keel-billed Toucan.  So bright and cheery!

Keel-billed Toucan. So bright and cheery!

Stellar's Sea Eagle Huge!

Stellar’s Sea Eagle
Huge!

Bald Eagles Luuve their expressions!

Bald Eagles
Luuve their expressions!

African Penguin Who are you lookin' at?

African Penguin
Who are you lookin’ at?

Egg art.

Egg art.

Cape Thick-knee I could literally have reached out and touched this one.

Cape Thick-knee
I could literally have reached out and touched this one.

Malayan Great Argus Not a good picture of this bird.  I had to lighten it so you could see it.  This bird is huge.  Bigger than a Peacock.

Malayan Great Argus
Not a good picture of this bird. I had to lighten it so you could see it. This bird is huge. Bigger than a Peacock.

Me feeding the Lorikeets.

Me feeding the Lorikeets.

Victoria Crowned Pigeon Another close encounter.  This 'pigeon' is about the size of a duck.

Victoria Crowned Pigeon
Another close encounter. This ‘pigeon’ is about the size of a duck.

Brown Pelican.  Most of the Aviary is now open rooms where you are in with the birds.

Brown Pelican.  Most of the Aviary is now open rooms where you are in with the birds.

Roseate Spoonbill

Roseate Spoonbill

Paradise Whydah These guys are really strange to watch fly.

Paradise Whydah
These guys are really strange to watch fly.

Gouldian Finch These guys let me get really close!

Gouldian Finch
These guys let me get really close!

Sudan Golden Sparrows

Sudan Golden Sparrows

Crested Wood Partridge Very small.  A softball and a half?

Crested Wood Partridge
Very small. A softball and a half?

Burrowing Owl A very small ground owl.  He was in his own cage behind glass but he very sweetly poked his head up for me to get a picture.

Burrowing Owl
A very small ground owl. He was in his own cage behind glass but he very sweetly poked his head up for me to get a picture.

My son's contribution.  He insisted I take a picture of this t-shirt in the gift shop.

My son’s contribution. He insisted I take a picture of this t-shirt in the gift shop.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures!

4 responses to “My Birthday at the Aviary

  1. That sounds like a cool day! To add to the bird fun, did you know that Japanese quail at least, crow? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IE61985wPbU

  2. What a great post, and holy crap, I was getting so worried!
    Julie
    (who misses you when you’re gone this long)

    • Thanks for missing me! 🙂 Life sucks around here right now and I just didn’t have the energy to keep up with my blogs. Not to mention I would have been bitching and moaning the whole time. I didn’t realize just how long it had been until Saver reminded me that -her- birthday (April!!) was the last time I was on. So I will be creeping back slowly into the interwebs. You know me, I’ll have to get caught up on what I missed! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

