Spider Bait’s an Eagle Scout! And I’ve Got Crystals!

Life At Our House

I spent who knows how many hours over several days going through box after box and bag after bag looking for my son’s Badge Cards that are required for his Board of Review.  They had been put ‘Someplace Safe’.  Eventually on the day before the Review I found an envelope actually marked in big black letters with the Badge Cards tucked safely into plastic card protectors.  Short only the most recent, of course.  Luckily I found those several hours before he was due to leave.  Which was a good thing because when my son put his shirt into the wash he hadn’t inspected for stains.  And when I went to iron the shirt I found big greasy fingerprints down one side.  *sigh*  What is it with guys?  So I had to stain treat and rewash the shirt.  Finally all was ready and off he went into a brief snowstorm that dumped 2 inches in an hour.  My husband said they went skating around some turns and down some hills so it was a good thing he had taken the van (snow tires). He was given into the hands of his Scout Master and returned about 3 1/2 hrs later as an Eagle Scout.  We were all soooo thrilled!!!!

The awards won’t be presented until the Blue and Gold Banquet in April but here is a picture of him on his way out the door.   Squee!

Now an Eagle Scout!

Now an Eagle Scout!

Out in the Yard

Here are some pictures from the quicky snowstorm.

Across the street.

Across the street.

My butterfly bushes.

My butterfly bushes.

It was a wet snow.

It was a very wet snow.

Crystals

I got an Amazon Gift Card for Christmas.  After much perusal and mostly looking at books, I discovered crystals for sale!  Now I’m normally not one for buying crystals sight unseen.  But they, Crystal Allies, guaranteed satisfaction so I figured what the heck.  And there went my $25 Gift Card!

Rough Orange Calcite.  I like rough stones as well as polished.

Rough Orange Calcite. I like rough stones as well as polished.

Rough Chrysoprase

Rough Chrysoprase.  They’re actually a bit greener than this picture.

Tumbled Grey Botswana Agate

Tumbled Grey Botswana Agate

Tumbled Rhodonite

Tumbled Rhodonite

Tumbled Fluorite

Tumbled Fluorite

Looking at these stones got me to thinking about what I had done with my rock tumbler.  I got it in 2003? 2004? with a Toys R Us Gift Card.  Yes, occasionally I shop for me at Toys R Us.  I was pretty sure there was an unused batch of grit and rocks somewhere.   I was quite pleased to find my memory was right for a change.  So I decided to start a run and add a couple of my rough stones to the batch.  Unfortunately, the calcite is too soft, only a 3 on the hardness scale.  So I could only add the chrysoprase which has a hardness of 7.  Here is what the batch looked like before being put in the tumbler.

Note the two green chrysoprase, one on top and one on the bottom.

Note the two green chrysoprase, one on top and one on the bottom.

And around and around they go down in the basement.

And around and around they go down in the basement.

There are four runs to make: 1 coarse grit, 1 medium grit, 1 fine grit, and 1 polish.  It will take roughly 4 – 6 weeks depending on how long the grit lasts.  I’ll start checking this round every 2 days.  It’s always fun to see how they progress.  The sad part is that you lose 1/4 to 1/3 of the stone before you’re done.  I’ll post pictures as I go.

Mug of the Day

100_4461

Nite all!  (Cross your fingers.  This will be my second attempt to post.  The first time Word Press ate all the words but kept the pictures.  Grrr… And it’s now 1:13 a.m.)

2 responses to “Spider Bait’s an Eagle Scout! And I’ve Got Crystals!

  1. It posted fine, yipee! (Holy crap, beentheredonethat.)

    Congratulations on such a wonderful thing! (I have no clue about scouting, but this seems like a huge deal, so I’m pleased for you guys.)
    Julie

    • I HATE when I lose the words. I have to try to remember what I wrote before and sometimes it does not come out coherently.

      Eagle Scout is the top Scout ranking and it takes years of work to get there. Roughly – from 1911 to 2005 only about 2% of scouts made Eagle. Around 2005 it jumped to 5%. In other words, it takes work and dedication. We’re thrilled but also glad it’s done because he left a bunch of projects to the last minute and we’ve been scrambling since Oct. But a nice bonus is that getting your Eagle Scout ranking is actually something you can put on your college and job resumes.

Leave a Reply

