Store-room Done (ish)

Random Thoughts

More quotes!

“The art of living is more like wrestling than dancing.”  — Marcus Aurelius

Boy, do I have days like that!  But I am back to doing my Simple Abundance, A Daybook of Comfort and Joy by Sarah Ban Breathnach.  “All you have is all you need.”  And she reminds us:

“We must learn to savor small, authentic moments that bring us contentment.  Experiment with a new cookie recipe.  Take the time to slowly arrange a bouquet of flowers in order to appreciate their colors, fragrance, and beauty.  Sip a cup of tea on the front stoop in the sunshine.  Pause for five minutes to pet a purring cat.  Simple pleasures waiting to be enjoyed.  Simple pleasures often overlooked.”

Today I took the time to admire my baby SeaMonkeys.  They hatched out of dried up eggs in a packet.  That always amazes me.  I gave kisses to my kitties and watched my puppy enjoy a peanut butter score.  And I looked at my Staghorn Fern and realized that it is sprouting new leaves.  Yay!

Life At Our House

The store-room is finally done!  Well, mostly.  There are things that have to be repacked because they’re a mess.  There are things I am probably going to either take to Goodwill or put in the yard sale pile out in the Pit (garage).  I have way too much kid paint and glitter glue, so I’ll see about donating to a teacher or two.  I have to make room to put my potatoes down in the store-room somewhere.  I couldn’t finish all the sorting and decision-making because we were on a deadline.  Spider Bait needs to get his Eagle stuff turned in.  We pitched 2 large garbage bags full of trash and put a bunch of stuff in the recycle bins (how many empty jars and bottles does one family need?).  But it’s 90% finished after roughly 17-20 hours worth of work over 2 weekends by 4 people.  And it is so amazingly wonderful to be able to walk in straight forward instead of crab-walking in sideways.  And I don’t have to worry about knocking anything over.  AND I know where everything IS!

Left side facing in from door.  The left side was bad, but not horrible.  Almost all the food is on that side and keeps being rotated out.  So it's semi-organized and clean.

Left side facing in from door. The left side was bad, but not horrible. Almost all the food is on that side and keeps being rotated out. So it’s semi-organized and cleanish.

Same side, lower view.  Once we hit the left side, it took about half the time to remove, clean, and replace.

Same side, lower view. Once we hit the left side, it took about half the time to remove, clean, and replace.

The right side facing in from the door.  See all the crap on the floor?  Goal - get it all on the shelves.  This half of the room was uber cluttered, dusty, dirty, moldy and just plain yuk.

The right side facing in from the door. See all the crap on the floor? Goal – get it all on the shelves. This half of the room was über cluttered, dusty, dirty, moldy and just plain yuk.

A reverse view.

A reverse view.

The right side empty and waiting to be scrubbed.

The right side empty and waiting to be scrubbed.

Now Once Upon A Time they had an uber sale on shelves.  I’m thinking it’s been 10 years, not sure.  We bought a bunch of them and got part of this room done but didn’t finish it.  I probably got sick again and didn’t pitch-a-bitch to get it done and it just got left and forgotten.  So we had shelf bits to make one unit higher.  And another still in its box.  And a metal shelf half buried in another part of the basement that we dug out, unloaded, cleaned, and brought in along with about half of what was on it.  Ta-Da!

Left side.

Left side.

Middle.  Look at all that walking room!

Middle. Look at all that walking room!

Right side.

Right side.

HIP, HIP HOORAY!

Fur Babies and Other Friends

I don't care if Mom's trying to work.  I need my snuggles!

I don’t care if Mom’s trying to work. I need my snuggles!

Me trying to work on the computer one-handed in my Eeyore pj's.

Me trying to work on the computer one-handed in my Eeyore pj’s.

Out In The Yard

Naw.  Too much snow.  But here’s a picture of one of the orchids Ikea had on sale for $5.

100_4326

Mug of the Day

100_4332

Woot!  And it’s not even midnight!

4 responses to “Store-room Done (ish)

  1. I must say you and Raven are adorable. He’s such a baby! Also HAH, see I’m not so silly to stop and pet the animals all the time. You’re book says so. (I may be a sucker, but that’s a different issue entirely.)
    I will add a YAY for the storeroom being done.

    Finally in regards to simple pleasures being missed, I will share this:

    In order to understand you must read the whole caption. It is sad what we miss because we don’t stop to look.

    • Petting animals to procrastinate and avoid work is not what they are talking about. 🙂

      This may have to go under my ‘Random Thoughts’ section on my next post. Amazing.

  2. Such a massive accomplishment. Wow, nice work. And yes WORK it obviously was.

    That orchid is gorgeous, and even more so with the snow view out behind.
    Julie

    • Work. Hmm. I’m thinking more along the lines of torture and inhumane treatment. You know how much I luuuve to clean. And I have a whole house yet to do. (deep breath, deep breath) The first person to start piling shit on the floor instead of putting things where they belong is gonna a die a horrible death. (deep breath, deep breath)

      On the plus side, some ‘lost’ things have been found. And I am the proud owner of 2 power strips that have never been used. And some of the things living under my buffet table in the kitchen can go back downstairs (like the pizzelle and waffle makers). And I’m going to move the coffee maker downstairs to give me more room in the cupboards up here since it only gets used a couple of times a year. And…

Leave a Reply

