“And A Being Within Ourselves To Bring To Life”

Random Thoughts

I found this quote one year when reading Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach.  While Christmas-y in nature, I think it fits with the ‘take better care of myself’ theme.

If, as Herod, we fill our lives with things, and again with things; if we consider ourselves so unimportant that we must fill every moment of our lives with action, when will we have the time to make the long, slow journey across the desert as did the Magi?  Or sit and watch the stars as did the shepherds?  Or brood over the coming of the child as did Mary?  For each one of us, there is a desert to travel.  A star to discover.  And a being within ourselves to bring to life.  — Author Unknown

Life At Our House

We’re busy here.  Saver went shopping with Gma-in-law to get boots for LARPing in.  Tomorrow she will go shopping with my mom to get other things.

Spider Bait is doing presentations for different classes which have put him in a “wonderful” mood.

I am busting my backside putting my monthly boxes in order.  What’s a monthly box?  Well, I live in this way too small house that I was never supposed to stay in (long story).  There is very little room, but I still like my ‘stuff’ which happens to be teapots (40+ ish), mugs (100+ have to ask Saver), some tea cups, and my candle stuff.  I have a china cabinet from the other house, but it only holds on one shelf about 8ish teapots.  Teacups are on one and little bits of stuff with meaning on the third. I have a mug rack on the wall that holds I think 48 mugs.  And my candles and candle stuff?  OMG.  I had no idea how much of that I had till I started bringing it all together.  A number of years back I divided what I had then minus the candle stuff into 12 months and holidays and got boxes for them and any decorations for that month/holiday.  The first week of each month I would bring up that box and its contents and put away the month before.  That way I got to use/see/enjoy all my stuff.

Well the past few years I haven’t been doing my monthly boxes regularly and additions to the collection got stuffed here and there in the house and the Dungeon.  For the first time in a couple of years, I got teapots for Christmas.  Three, to be exact.  So I decided to round-up all I could find and re-sort my monthly boxes and also gather and sort my candle stuff and add it in.  Holy crap.  Hours ‘n hours and a couple of days later, I’m still not done.  I have to sit down and make an inventory for all the boxes so I know where everything is.  This does not, by the way, include Easter and Christmas.  Easter is buried in a corner I refused to excavate right now and Christmas is all over the damn place.

The candle stuff alone was sobering.  I put a few in each of the monthly boxes, but that still left 4 shelves worth of stuff.  I got only got rid of a shoebox of small candle holders.  Saver grabbed a couple that held memories for her.  Yikes.  Two and a half shelves are taken up with candles of different kinds.  I think as I work my way through them, a lot of the jar candles will wind up in the yard sale pile since I now have bad reactions to so many scented candles.  I need to let people know not to buy me jar candles anymore.  I’ll post pictures of box contents each month.  January always has to wait until after Epiphany.  AND…

We are also cleaning out the store-room in the basement as my son’s family project for his Eagle.  ***head table***  Another huge mess.  You could barely get in there. Hours of work. It is now my turn to go down and organize the shelves (put shit away) down the right side of the room.  I got the candle stuff in!!!  So tomorrow I will try to finish that and then Sunday the left side will be stripped out and cleaned.  It is the easy side since there really isn’t much to sort.  That whole side is pretty much food.  I took my time and built up a small stock pile of staples.  I buy in bulk whenever I can.  I really do love having a store-room and it will be sooo nice for it to be easy access and clean again. (No Halloween atmosphere with the spiders, no muck and mold on the walls, no mouse and rat traps with moldy peanut butter, … you get the picture.)  And speaking of which, I will post pics when we’re done with the room.

Here’s a picture of the Christmas mugs (minus 2 that came in after I took the picture).  I did at least get them out this year.

100_4225

Time for Bed!  Night all!

2 responses to ““And A Being Within Ourselves To Bring To Life”

  1. I am exhausted reading about all of this cleaning. I do, however, like the idea of monthly boxes. Won’t ever be that organized (I am a very haphazard Virgo), but I like the idea.
    Julie

    (We MAYBE have 7 mugs/coffee cups in the entire house, 2 in the Yule decorations, wait, that might be a set of 4 I’m thinking of. No teapots.)

    • Snort. I wasnt’ real thrilled with the ‘idea’ myself. I just didn’t know what else to do. Alot of the pots have memories attached. Like an old blue Lipton teapot from my Great Grandmother who was alive till I was 13? and a small one with gold filigree and pink flowers that belonged to my Grandmother. Some are gifts from friends and family. And we do like our tea around here, both hot and cold. I can’t remember how the mugs got started in mass. But I have one mug my BF gave me in college and now Saver has it with her at college. And I managed to hang on to (steal from the trash) 2 coffee cups that I remember my mother drinking coffee from when I was little. I just can’t bring myself to throw that stuff away. Saver and Spider Bait are made from sterner stuff. “Mom, there is no way we’re keeping all that stuff after you die. Seriously.”

Leave a Reply

