Bees!/ Don’t try this at home

Ok, so this post is coming a while after the event, but I still would like to share an awesome thing I got to do last Monday.  First you must know that I am taking a class which is currently studying social insects.  So for our lab we got to go watch  as an artificial swarm was created.  Then we were allowed to touch it!  I got this awesome picture of me and the swarm:

Don’t try this at home!!

It feels rather buzzy and warm.  The bees are not as aggressive while swarming because they have no home to defend.  However, I would not recommend that people go around randomly touching bees.  There was a professional beekeeper there to supervise so it was safer.  Also for those who were worried about us disturbing the bees, we were told that this time at least it would be therapeutic as the hive was getting mites and this would allow them to get rid of most of them.  It was an amazing experience.

Anyway, aside from getting to touch bees, another fun thing I got to do was go to a LARP recently. LARP is live action roleplay and it is a lot of fun.  Below I’ve inserted a picture of one of my characters practicing “combat” (the staff is foam).

Just having fun practicing

I had a great time and can’t wait for the next one.  Other than those fun things, I am running clubs and going to classes and basically being busy.  So sorry you can’t get in touch as much mom.  Hope everyone there is doing well!  Love you all!

Vale,  Saver of Bugs

2 responses to “Bees!/ Don’t try this at home

  1. Oh, I am soooo jealous! That looks like sooo much fun! Thanks for getting someone to take your picture touching the bees! You should make that your skype pic!

    And our minds are linked again, ’cause I am trying to get together pictures to do a bumble post. If I can ever get my butt out of bed early enough to find a male in a flower!

    Are you going to be able to do a LARP post with more pics? Or didn’t anyone take pics at this one?

    • I could do a LARP post with more pics if you’re interested. The pictures probably won’t be from this last one though because there was a definite lack of them. Also I have to be able to crop out everyone else cause I don’t have permission to put them up. Might have a few I can convince to be in them but no guarantees.

Leave a Reply

