Tour of Utah Over and an Unexpected Fabric Stash

Random Thoughts

So the Tour of Utah is over and disappointment reigns.  Levi Leipheimer was to defend his title and go for a third win.  Unfortunately,  Omega Pharma – Quick Step didn’t see fit to send him an ‘A’ list team to back him up.  Only 6 six riders, not 8, and one of the riders was a stagiaire! (Which is an amateur brought up to ride a few races with a pro team to see if he likes being a pro and also for the team to see if he works out.)  They did give Levi the Velits brothers, but with a stagiaire who couldn’t time trial with the pros, Levi lost 2 minutes in the team time trial.  He wound up riding most of the week on his own basically using other teams to help keep him from losing more time.  He got some time back on the first big mountain stage, but it wasn’t enough to bag the GC (lead).  So on the last day, on the last climb up Empire Pass, he managed to pull away and win the stage on his own.  Again he got some time back, but only enough to pull himself up to 6th place overall.  A stage win on Empire Pass isn’t anything to sneeze at, so at least he managed to get that as a small compensation for a bad week.

There was a lot of discussion about why Omega Pharma – Quick Step only sent a 6 rider team.  No one has a firm answer and Omega Pharma had no comment.  The really sad thing is Omega Pharma – Quick Step is sending the same team to the USA Pro Cycling Challenge on August 20th.  Levi won that one as well (the first edition, no less) and you would think Omega Pharma – Quick Step would want to back him for the win to get the exposure for their sponsors.  Instead, they are going to get a lot more negative exposure here in the USA for sending a less than adequate team to help a former winner defend his title.

On the upside of the race, 6 of the top 10 placings at Utah were USA.  Matthew Busche, RadioShack-Nissan in 2nd, Joseph Dombrowski, Bontrager Livestrong in 4th, Ian Boswell, Bontrager Livestrong in 5th, Levi Leipheimer, Omega Pharma – Quick Step in 6th, Chris Horner, RadioShack – Nissan in 7th, and Lucas Euser, Team Spidertech p/b C10 in 8th.

Many of the same teams will be lining up in Colorado in 3 days.  One can only imagine the level of frustration Levi is dealing with knowing ahead of time he is riding with a ‘B’ team and only 6 riders to try to defend his title.

*****

After talking below about my email, I felt the need to say that I am working slowly on cleaning out my email.  So much is going on this year and everything is going to be coming in via email that I will be basically screwed if I don’t get this done fairly soon.  So far I’ve deleted 5,911 pcs of email (yes, I’m keeping track so I know I’ve gotten something done).  Please send good vibes my way to help me get this back under control.

Life At Our House

A few days back Spider Bait sent me a picture from work and asked if I wanted the fabric in the picture.  Huh?  So I called him to find out what was going on.  Turns out his boss sent him down the hill to torch a local dump site as it was getting too big.  (Saver, it’s the bend in the road before the bridge over the creek.)  When he got there he saw a number of boxes full of fabric samples and just couldn’t believe that someone had thrown them in the burn pile.  “Mom, I dug around in them.  There is nothing wrong with them!  It’s good fabric! And they are just going to burn them up!”  So I said I would take them.  Oh Em Gee, I had no idea there was so much!  Three boxes and an arm load.   And he was only able to rescue half!  Three boxes went up in flames because it was too dangerous/unstable for him to climb the pile and rescue them.  He carried the rescued boxes back up the hill one at a time for me.  I have no idea what all I will do with this bounty.  But I couldn’t stand the thought of them burning either.  Here’s a picture.  They are in the back of my van.

*****

There is so much total shit going on with my son’s school’s Marching Band that I still can’t write about it with any rationality.  His senior year in Marching Band has been trashed all due to politics and personal vendettas on the School Board.  Fuck the kids.  I don’t think I could even pretend to be polite to any of those people right now.  All the parades and festivals were cancelled as part of what’s going on.  However, when it came time for the bus painting at the County Fair, people were asking where our school was and that helped get them the opportunity to play at the Fair this week even though they didn’t get to paint a bus for the demolition derby.  Someone involved with the Fair went out and put our name on the unpainted bus and put it in the derby anyway.  I thought that was awfully nice of them.  BUT, the kids were not allowed to stay after the performance to watch the derby like every other year.  Many of us signed the release forms to get our kids off the bus back to school (I took responsibility for some of Spider Bait’s friends), but there were some kids whose parents didn’t come and didn’t sign them over to another parent and they had to go back with the bus.  Which sucked.  I’m still steaming.

To top it off, I forgot my camera.   GRRRRRRR.  I had to use my crappy, cheapo, phone camera which limited me to whatever had lights up (This takes place at night).  No, you don’t get to see the pictures yet.  I have to figure out how to get them from my phone to email cause my phone won’t hook up to a PC!  Then I have to dig them out of my email and figure out how to get them to my blog folder.  I will have computer people home this weekend to help me with this.

However, as part of Boy Scouts, Spider Bait and my husband went to help out at the ticket booths at the County Fair.  They brought more food home.

There were 2 awesome Gyros (there is only 1 in the picture) and a Calzone.

An elephant ear for mom.

Cotton candy, partially eaten.

Fur Babies and Other Friends

On the cricket front, the eggs have begun hatching and I now have a berjillion baby crickets.  Sooo many, hundreds, that I am now concerned about what in the heck I am going to do with that many.  Why can’t I do anything half way?  I would give you a picture but they are still so small they look like dirt on a paper towel.  Maybe next week.

I need a new name for my lizard.  We chose Galen originally, but it is so close to the name of a relative, that I keep popping out with his name instead (which would not go over well).  So I’m shopping for another one.  Sam, Jack, and Hawk are possibilities.  But Spider Bait and the woman who does my hair want a dragon type name.  But I can’t find any good ones so far that aren’t like 10 syllables long.  So he’s a no name again.  And he just keeps growing…

One month ago

10 days ago

Pretty boy!

Out In The Yard

Our header today is zinnias.  I want to show you  what a cheapo camera I’ve got.  I know, I shouldn’t complain.  At least I have a camera.  But check out the first shot compared to the ‘real’ picture.

‘Natural’ this isn’t

Much better

And for our viewing pleasure…

Mugs

This mug belonged to my maternal Grandmother.

(If I proof read and fix my header fast enough, I just might be done before Midnight!  Woo Hoo!)

6 responses to “Tour of Utah Over and an Unexpected Fabric Stash

  1. My girls named one of their stuffed lizard toys Uther … because he was a Pendragon. So I vote “Uther” for the lizard :0)

    • Oooo, Merlin. So we’ll toss that one in the pot, too. I don’t know why I’m having trouble naming this lizard. Maybe because I called him ‘Squirt’ too much when I first got him. 🙂 (Someone put up ‘Draco’ and I nixed that right quick. All I could think of was Malfoy!)

  2. I am stuck on the fact that someone tossed all of that fabric in a BURN PILE !!! 😕
    Julie

    • I knoooow. Isn’t that awful? I don’t know what I’ll do with all of it, but I just couldn’t let it be burned. How cool is it that my son couldn’t stand for it to be burned either? He gets bonus points. He also found out who tossed it. Ready? One guy’s daughter in college had a friend who’s friend worked at JoAnn Fabrics in Indiana. They tossed all these samples and the friend of a friend brought them to the friend to use making costumes and whatever. The friend stored them at the daughter’s house and not long after left college and didn’t come back. The daughter then left college and came home for good bringing all the boxes of fabric with her. As they were sorting through all the stuff from the house in Indiana, they found the fabric and didn’t want it so they just pitched it in the burn pile. Sheesh.

  3. That sucks for Levi. I hope he does well anyway.
    The amount of fabric there is amazing, I hope it can all be put to good use. Also tell Spider Bait that I’m proud of him for appreciating all of that. I hope that all of his marching band stuff works out. It sucks that the school’s doing that.
    Good luck with the email. Hope that can be worked through.
    Wow crickets. As for a name for the lizard, my friend (the one you have interesting conversations with) says anything that sounds like a growl when you say it works as a dragon name. I found Icefyre as one. Ooo, and Falkor.

    My news for the week is that I’m in for far more work than I originally realized. My classes have a lot more work than I anticipated along with the four or so groups I’m active in and my job. So this semester will be very interesting. At least some of the classes look fun. Although physics will be a lot of studying. Kind of wish I had taken it in high school. Oh well, I have friends in it, so we’ll work together. But yeah, if you don’t hear from me for a week that would be why. Adventure time!
    In other news I have henna all over my arms and redyed the streaks in my hair, so I’m decorated and ready for a challenge. I think that’s about all I’m doing here. So talk to you soon I guess. Send everyone my love!

Leave a Reply

