My Birthday at the Zoo

For my birthday, I decided I wanted to go to the zoo.  I figured out that I hadn’t been since my daughter took a Career Exploration class there.  That was FOUR years ago.  I used to go every year at least once!  And I needed my ‘lellaphant fix!

Mother’s Day (and also my birthday) was out.  They had stuff going on and it would be packed.  So, today, Saturday, would do.  Uh, huh.  Everyone and all his relatives plus a couple of busloads showed up.  There were a trillion, berjillion people there.  Did I mention how I don’t like crowds?  That they make me cranky and give me a headache and make me twitch and sometimes make it hard to breathe?  Yes, I have learned to deal with this (mostly) over the years.  There are too many crowd inducing things I enjoy.  But I start having trouble when the crowds reach the shoulder to shoulder, shuffle walk stage.

The paths and outdoor exhibits were annoying but  manageable.  However, at the indoor monkey house I made it about 20 feet in and said, “Head for the exit.”  I could have turned around and gone back out, but I wanted to see some of it; but I also didn’t want to fight for a window.  Exhibits were peeked at over and around heads as we shuffled and stopped even though we were trying to get out.  My son said, “You know this was a lot easier when I was short and could get through everyone’s legs.  Somehow, I don’t think it would be socially acceptable if I did that now, though.”  I told him that at 5’10” and 17 years old, they would probably arrest him for being a perv. 🙂

Despite the crowds, I had a good time, got my ‘lellaphant fix (twice), and treated myself to gravy fries and 2 (yes, two) softserve vanilla, waffle cone, ice creams.  Yummm.  I also took 137 pictures, whittled down to 70 after eliminating all the bad shots and unwanted duplicates, and despite the fact a lot of the animals were being uncooperative.  For example, I like tigers, but I want more than a hip and twitching tale in my picture.  Now I know no one is going to sit through 70 zoo pictures so I’m going to try to keep it around 20-ish.  Enjoy.

Our greeter at the zoo

Iris along the water’s edge is our header for today.

Rock fish

Sand shark at least 5 ft. long

Sea Otter pup

Mug of the Day 

There is no mug of the day.  The mug of the day, a black and orange striped tiger mug purchased at the zoo and never even used, is lying in crumbs in the garbage can.  As I was carrying things into the house, I bent over just a bit and the freaking slippery plastic bag it was in squirted out of my arms.  Did it land in the multitude of soft dirt filled plant pots in the driveway?  Hell, no.  It flipped so it missed them and hit the concrete.  Fortunately, it was the only casuality.  My son’s zoo shot glass survived and so did the ‘It’s my birthday.’ rationalized purchase of a soap stone (?) egg carved with an Elephant.  So you get a picture of that instead.

5 responses to “My Birthday at the Zoo

  1. Happy Happy Birthday, tomorrow! I don’t love to battle the crowds either, you were very brave and did really well.

    I’m so sorry for your mug. But wow. That carving is gorgeous!

    Loved every single picture, but some of my faves were:
    flamingos,
    lion (both shots),
    shark (about the size of me),
    peacock,
    BEAUTIFUL reptiles!

    Thank you for letting us have this peek into your day.
    Julie

    • I have internet again! We lost it yesterday afternoon and didn’t get it back till this morning. I’ve become an addict!

      Glad you liked the pics. There were more (70 total, lol!), but people’s eyes glaze over when I get started about animals. When my husband saw I was going into the reptile section he said, “Okay, I’m leaving now.” and headed for the other side by the door. He is not a fan. He tolerates lizards as long as I don’t let them run around unsupervised, but snakes are on the “No way in hell” list. Sigh.

      Do you remember you wanted the recipe for the cake-with-all-the-shit-in-it? Well, I never did find the recipe. It appears that a portion of the dessert section of recipe cards is missing. ???? However, since it was my birthday my mother made the cake and I made her re-write the recipe. (This can be a chore.) I will put it up in my next post with a picture of the cake – slightly smooshed though. But still delicious!

  2. Saver of Bugs

    Happy Birthday Mom!! aaaaaand Happy Mother’s Day!!
    The zoo looks like it was fun and that carving is gorgeous! Also where was the sea otter pup? Soooo cute! Hope your day today is wonderful as well!

    • Hi, sweetie! I know your hell week has started, but I hope you have time to stop in and visit.

      Mother’s Day was so-so. Major sinus attack. My face was so swollen my eyes just about disappeared! But I made myself get washed and dressed and we headed to the farm market for potatoes and apples and, of course, butter toffee peanuts. We also got fresh grown lettuce! They had some acceptable greenhouse tomatoes, so I grabbed some of them. They appeared better than the grocery store’s. Bruschetta coming up! Aaaand, I bought myself one of those ‘Mazoo’ plants, again. Hey, it was Mother’s Day.

      I also scored serious cash for my birthday! Time to order a couple of books and I might even get another lizard. Still thinking about that though.

      The baby Sea Otter was in a little plastic pool on towels sound asleep in a little section before you walk through the second underwater tunnel. That shark picture? Well, the sharks are in the tank where they said they would have a walrus that never materialized. So you get to walk in there and have all the sharks swimming around you.

      Gram called a little bit ago. Your aunt on my side fell outside on the bricks while jumping up and down popping bubble wrap with the kids. She broke the head of her ulna off and either shattered part of the ulna or part of one of the wrist bones (you know gram and her explanations). They put her in a cast to immobilize her till she sees the surgeon tomorrow and then sent her home!! Go figure. Hopefully tomorrow we’ll get better info.

      Hope things are going relatively sanely for you!

      • Saver of Bugs

        Well my brief check in is that I just worked a 13 hour day, cut up my hand (nothing major, don’t worry, just some annoying cuts), got some bruises, and discovered just how heavy a grand drape is (I sure can’t gather it by myself). So now I’m going to bed. Hope Aunt is ok. Good night!

Leave a Reply

