Sleep, Glorious Sleep

Random Thoughts

I had nowhere to be today.  A never-ending boatload of stuff that needs done here.  I really need to crank down on taking back this house.  But I had nowhere to be, no one to pick up, no stores to go to, nothing.  I have, however, had a lousy week of sleep and the tank was low so I slept in.  And actually slept, for nearly 12 hours.  No cats woke me up, no dog barking, no trucks or chain saws, no mystery phone calls.*   Just sleep.  My word how different the day looks when you’ve had a good nights sleep.  It was wonderful.  I got up around 1 pm., lingered over my breakfast/lunch and my blogs and didn’t hit the shower till 3.  A little time on the couch (see Fur Babies), dinner and Psych, and then I got some work done.  Laundry.  I wanted clean sheets and jammies so did that load and came back upstairs to find a cat had puked on my bed.  Sigh.  So the bedspread was going  to have to get washed as well.  Which means it won’t be dry till like 11:30.  Grrrr.  But, oh, well, right?  I’ve had a good nights sleep, I can take it.  And even though it was getting dark,  I went outside to get my hands in some dirt ’cause I needed to get in the dirt.  I feel much better now.  Hopefully, tonight will be a peaceful night as well and tomorrow I’ll conquer the world.

“If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly, our whole life would change.”  – Buddha

* For a couple of days I was getting calls from the Elementary school.  I could never get to my cell phone fast enough and I don’t have a mailbox set up so I had no way of knowing who was calling.   I talked to the secretaries and they were confused as well since I have no children down there and haven’t been doing any volunteer work.  Then it hit me while I was in the ‘thinking room’ (bathroom), the IEP coordinator works out of the Elementary!  So I left her a message and sure enough, it was time to schedule my son’s last IEP meeting (he will be a senior next year, wwaaaaaaaahhhhh…).

Fur Babies and Other Friends

A leetle nappers:

Life At Our House (late night addition)

Do you see that frothy goodness?  Tomorrow there will be sourdough bread!

Out in the Yard

Our header today is a dwarf rhododendron.

Also, today I needed to go put my hands in dirt and get something done, even though it was getting dark.  So I weeded some window boxes that don’t sit in windows.  Last fall I had thrown some sprouting garlic in one rather than throw it out.  Here’s a picture part way in the weeding:

And – Ta Da – some of the garlic survived the winter in a box.  I have sprouting garlic in the basement from some that was given to me last fall and I threw some cloves in to fill the blank spots.  No, I’m not trying to grow giant heads.  I can’t eat bunches of garlic anymore.  So having some wee heads, where all I have to do is break off a tiny clove to throw in with my eggs suits me well.

Notice I’m losing light at this point.  But I am determined to do one more box and get my lettuce in.  So think of the top picture as a starting point again (weeds) and then I planted the lettuce I had purchased.  By street light at this point.  It would be nice if I could actually get a real garden in this year, but at least I’ll have a wee bit of lettuce and spinach (hopefully tomorrow).

I really need to get back out in the yard.  It was such a relief to be out there in the dirt that I didn’t want to come in even though it had gotten dark.

My Mug for Tomorrow

And after my daughter and I get done grumbling about her grandmother over Skype, I’m going to be heading for bed.  Hopefully for another good night’s sleep.

6 responses to “Sleep, Glorious Sleep

  1. Love the napping kitty. Also I’m so glad you finally got sleep. Now if only I can. The plants are also a great thing. I’ve just been running around like normal trying to keep up. Here’s something that I wanted to share. It was a video that my biology professor showed me in class and it has a rather powerful message. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4EWMUzsGjPM

  2. Nice garden. Make sure you don’t over exert yourself while you are super tired or you might start to hallucinate! If you want to, check out why on my blog

    • Welcome! I did pop over to your site. It made me laugh. The other morning I was trying to make myself get up when I heard my phone ring a message tone. From the fish tank! It took me a moment to realize I was hearing things!

  3. I love the idea of small garlics. Must share with Dan!

    Sleeeeeeep!!! So glad for you. 🙂

    Oh man, I want sourdough bread now.
    Julie

    • Small garlics are awesome. I didn’t even think of them till I got handed a wadded up piece of newspaper full of just dug garlics about the size of half a ping pong ball. The guy didn’t want them to go to waste (he was clearing a section of garden). They are soooo darn convenient for small dishes or eggs or sandwiches or….well, you get the picture. And I get fresh garlic without tummy issues.

      Too bad you live way over there <<<<<. I love sharing fresh bread!

Leave a Reply

