Woot! DONE!

Random Thoughts

I HATE this time of year.  With a passion.   To top it all off, I was soooo sure that the college financial crap was due the same day as taxes.  Oops.  Nope.  They were still due on the 15th even though it was a Sunday and taxes were due on the 17th.  AND my daughter had popped off to LARP for the weekend (6-ish hrs away) and she hadn’t done her taxes either.   Did I mention how much I hate this time of year?  Did I mention how much I love Skype?  We pulled some bull sessions on Skype, each working on whatever, able to ask each other, “Do you have this?” or “What do I do here?” just as if we were in the same room.  I love Skype.

Once upon a time I was an organized person.  I knew where all the paperwork was and taxes were filed early.  I want that back.  To that end, I dug out some envelopes and file folders and sorted what paperwork I had found and had done.

They are now in my ‘full of out of date stuff’ file cabinet.  But they are where they should be.

“Procrastination is the thief of time.” – Edward Young

And to march myself forward tomorrow:

“To be really great in little things, to be truly noble and heroic in the insipid details of everyday life, is a virtue so rare as to be worthy of canonization.”                                                     – Harriet Beecher Stowe

So here’s to being “great in little things”.

Life At Our House

Last night was one of two spring Concert Band concerts.  We have been listening for weeks to our son say how bad it was and no one was doing well and no one needed to come to this concert, blah, blah, blah.  So we really didn’t tell anyone to come but insisted we were coming, get over it, we’re supporting the band and it’s just us… you get the picture.  Are we allowed to smack our kids over the head with heavy objects?  Because it was one of the best concerts of late (there have been some truly bad ones not too far back), the music choices were great, my MIL would have loved it, and I just want to smack my kid.  So we had our say in the car along the lines that he was being entirely too picky (there were 7th graders and one 6th grader playing with them) and we’re inviting people always from here on in.  He, of course, thinks we’re nuts for liking it.  Sigh (of aggravation).  However, the one ‘fun for everyone’ part was this awesome tie he got for Christmas (I wish I could show you how spiffy he looked, but he doesn’t want to have his face on the blog):

Fur Babies and Other Friends 

The animals were being very uncooperative today about having their pictures taken.  But I did get a lucky shot of Jake stress yawning at me.

Out in the Yard 

Between the weather and the taxes I did not get to play outside this week so far.  But I have bunches of ‘in the yard’ posy pictures.  I even grabbed a couple after dinner tonight.  Here is one of my favorite flowers and the header tonight – Columbine.

Crystals

Did you know Petrified Wood is considered a crystal?  Petrified Wood is fossilized wood.  This is where the organic material has been replaced by minerals, usually agate, chalcedony, or quartz (all crystal material).  The most common sources  are the USA and  Madagascar.  The astrological association of Petrified Wood is Leo and it is associated with the Base Chakra.

Petrified Wood is another calming crystal.  Good for de-stressing and mental balance, it is also good for the bones and can help with arthritis.  It can help access past lives and help look at periods of Time in fresh ways to help with life lessons.  Just holding it in your hand and looking at it is amazingly soothing.  Hold Petrified Wood or place as needed on body.

(I apologize for the flash spot, but I could NOT find a way to photograph this without shine!)

And my mug for tomorrow will be:

Have you guys figured out yet that I like flowers?  🙂

2 responses to “Woot! DONE!

  1. That is an outstandingly cool tie. 😉
    Julie

Leave a Reply

