Heck inna Handbasket

This has been “One of Those Days”.  Nickled and dimed to death.  I hate being pecked at all day.  Bad night, bills, taxes (more), car situation, puking, poop/diarrhea,  uncooperative machinery, blah, blah, blah.  Got the picture?  Need I put details?  I didn’t think so.  Saver of Bugs has been here done that, so she is probably way glad to be at school.  Spider Bait at least had the self-preservatory instincts to not put “Look at the Bright Side of Life” from “Spamalot” on his I-Pod.  It would not have gone well for him.  Instead he brought me a ‘Kiss’ so I could “eat chocolate and think happy thoughts”.  I would have smacked him, but he did bring me chocolate.  So this will be a hit and run post.  Here’s a quote I can relate to today:

“It’s not the tragedies that kill us,” Dorothy Parker once observed, “it’s the messes.”

But since I’m supposed to be looking for positive things, through gritted teeth I’ll give you this:

“Every morning when we wake up we’ve been given a wonderful gift – another day of life-…   Sarah Ban Breathnach, Simple Abundance

My mug for tomorrow will probably be this:

In keeping with the mood today, there are currently 2 squirrels beating the crap out of each other on my roof.   It sounds like screeching elephants.  I keep waiting for one of the little suckers to take a header off the side.

My header today is moss growing in our yard.  I laid down on my tummy to get this picture:

So that’s it.  The boys are at scouts for at least another hour and I quit.  Comfort food,  absolutely tea, a show of my choice (a rerun with a happy ending) are all on the menu.  I need a couple of hours of mental health time.  Bye!

2 responses to “Heck inna Handbasket

  1. New Day New Dawn. That’s our new motto!

    What an awesome photo. Very nicely done. Chalk that up to a success! Wait, did the match on your roof end in a tie? No one fell off? I’m slightly disappointed.

    Chocolate. Always a good idea.
    Start again tomorrow.
    Julie

    • I almost didn’t even get back on the computer yesterday, but I thought of my daughter and threw something up. Then I found out she was soooooo busy with her organic chemistry (yuk) and the computer had eaten another class’s homework (do over!) that she had only done a quick stop at the blog. I could’ve skipped yesterday! Ah, well. (By the way, glad to hear I’m not the only one who has lost shit while posting. Grrrr.) However, I feel much better today. Sat down last night with tea and cake and watched “Practical Magic”. I do love that movie. And I actually got some sleep. Forward, ho!

      As for the squirrels, one made a flying leap for the tree and then ran like hell. We have alot of trees in our yard, so it’s like a squirrle highway system. They’re amazingly tough. I watched one literally get kicked off the feeder (it’s on pulleys way up in the tree so I can watch out the window) and go splat on the ground below. I thought he was dead, but after a minute or so, he got up, ran back up the tree and ripped into the guy who kicked him overboard. I have my own private entertainment center in a tree.

Leave a Reply

